Fiji Famil


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji
March 3rd 2007
Published: March 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Fijian SunsetFijian SunsetFijian Sunset

So beautiful
HI there everyone - well this is my first entry so not really sure what to write and all that but will give it a go :o)

Well as you may or may not know I started working as a Travel Consultant with TravelCafe in October of last year. Well as part of my job I get to travel around the world and experience places so then I have an understanding of what I am selling so Im not just talking ****. (called a Famil or Educational)

Well this was my first work trip - I was sent to Fiji to look around a few of the resorts and the islands and it was a really exciting trip - thanks to work and the Fiji Visitors Bureau. Although not at all what I had expected for Fiji.

We arrived quite late at night but the minute you stepped of the plane you could feel the heat - there was no breeze or anything. After clearing customs and meeting our transfer company we headed to our first nights accommodation.

Driving through Nadi at night couldnt see all that much but you could see that it was quite run down - there were even cows & horses just wandering down the road - lots of people just walking down the streets to and kids and for the time of night it was it was quite suprising.

We spent the first night on Denerau Island at the Golf Terraces Apartments and these were really nice - the minute you walked into the apartment there was your best friend - AIR CONDITIONING :o). Waking up the next morning and just looking out onto the complex it really hit me - here I am in Fiji!! Seeing a coconut tree outside of our room and even at 6am it was still really warm.

After brekkie went on the Bula Bus around Denerau Island and drove past quite a few of the resorts that are on the Island then we went back to the Marina to catch a boat out to the islands.

I really enjoyed my famil to Fiji - though not quite what I expected and it was quite hot but that was also because we were walking around a lot - if you were just sitting on the beach and reading or something would be quite nice. Every
B. Bula BusB. Bula BusB. Bula Bus

Bula Bus that takes you around Denerau Island
island we visited everyone was just so friendly - singing songs, the welcoming to the islands and of course everyone was always saying Bula - Fijians are such a friendly bunch.

I was glad that every place that we stayed had air conditioning though - it does become a close friend.

Well thats it from me - hope this is ok for my first blog :o)


Resorts that we visited:

* Golf Terraces Apartments
* Sofitel Fiji Resort
* Castaway Island Resort
* Mana Island Resort
* Beachcomber Island Resort
* Treasure Island Resort
* Bounty Island Resort
* Shangri-La Fijian Resort
* Outrigger on the Lagoon
* Raffles Gateway Hotel




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

C. South Sea CruisesC. South Sea Cruises
C. South Sea Cruises

Boat that takes you from Denerau Marina to the Fiji Islands
D. WelcomeD. Welcome
D. Welcome

Being welcomed to the Island
E. DrinkE. Drink
E. Drink

The lovely drink that you get - to pretty to drink
G. Our Famil GroupG. Our Famil Group
G. Our Famil Group

Group of us who were on the famil together with Neil from the Fijian Visitors Bureau - our guide.
H. View - Mana IslandH. View - Mana Island
H. View - Mana Island

This is the view from our room at Mana Island
I. Wedding ChapelI. Wedding Chapel
I. Wedding Chapel

This is the Wedding Chapel at the Shangri-La Fijian Resort


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0167s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb