Fiji


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands
June 16th 2011
Published: June 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday 25 May: I arrived in Nadi at 4 pm and at the airport I met a Dutch guy called Wolf who I already met at the Park Travellers’Lodge in Tongariro National Park in New Zealand. We walked to the baggage claim, got our baggage and walked to Awesome Adventures Fiji where I booked a 6 days/7 nights/4 islands package called the Ultimate Lei. All transfers/accommodation and meals (breakfast/lunch/dinner)were included and because I chose the Full Monty package also all my activities were included. I also took some extra Fijian dollars to be able to buy some extra drinks or food at the islands. Then Wolf and me were picked up by a taxi that took us to our hostel in Nadi called Aquarius situated next to the beach. We checked in and ordered a pizza and Fiji Bitter beer for dinner. It was so great to be able to wear flip flops, a T-shirt and shorts again after New Zealand. After dinner I read a book in a hammock and went to bed.

Thursday 26 May: I woke up at 6 am, had American pancakes for breakfast, checked out and got picked up by a bus towards Port Denarau where our boat would leave at 8.30 am to the islands. I had to pay an extra 10 Fijian dollar fuel surcharge. The Awesome Adventures Fiji boat left and first we stopped at South Sea Island, then at Bounty, Beachcomber, Vomo, Kuata, Waya Lailai, Nanuya Balavu, Naviti, Nanuya Lailai and Nacula. On the boat I met a guy called Scott from San Francisco and he decided to join me to Nacula. When we came close to the island the Fijian people were singing for us at the shore and when we came on the island they said “Bula” which means “Welcome”. We arrived just in time for lunch (pasta) and after lunch Scott and me put our bags in our dorm and decided to go for a walk around the island. We walked through the bush and up the hills for some better views of the island. We walked in our swimming pants and flip-flops and sometimes we fell , because we couldn’t see where we could put our feet in the high grass. We came into forest and broke a coconut to drink the milk from it. Then we accidentally came to the village, where we were not supposed to come and people told us that is was better to leave. We walked through swamp and I got stuck into it until my knee. We also almost bumped our heads in to some big spiders. Finally we arrived back at Nabua Lodge (our resort), just in time for dinner. Dinner was sweet corn soup, fish, potatoes and fruit cake as dessert. In the evening we played the card game Ring of fire with two Swedish girls, 3 Norwegian girls, 4 German boys, Scott and me.

Friday 27 May: breakfast at 8 am consisted of cereals, milk, tea, toast, butter, jam, chocolate brownie and papaya. At 9 am we were picked up by a small motorboat to go to Tavewa to the Salawau Caves. The caves were very dark and to go from one cave to the next one we had to swim through 9 meter deep water. We also had to dive underneath a 1 meter rock which was pretty exciting. We returned to Nabua Lodge on Nacula at 11.30 am for our lunch: noodles, rice, vegetables and chicken. At 1.30 pm I got picked up by a dive master called Pau (from Fiji) to do a dive at Tom’s Thumb. I stayed down for 24 minutes, went to a depth of 19 meters and saw a lionfish, trevalli, napoleonwrasse and gruper. Diving in Fiji is amazing, cause the water is warm, the visibility is very good and there is a large variety of fish and coral. I returned just in time for dinner: soup, potato, chicken, rice and pineapple. After dinner we learned a local dance called the “Bula-dance”.

Saturday 28 May: I woke up at 7 am, packed all my bags, checked out at 8 am , had breakfast and got picked up by Pau again for probably the best thing I have done during this trip: a shark dive. First we had to go to Coral View Resort again on Tavewa to get our gear and then we went with 2 Norwegian guys, 1 guy from Israel, 1 girl from Sweden and 3 Fijian dive masters to a dive site called the Cathedral Reef, 4 miles out of the coast. We went down to a depth of 21 meters and had to hold a rope on the bottom. The dive masters brought two bins with tuna heads and they put them 5 meters away from us. Then the sharks came in: black tips, white tips, nurse sharks, grey reef sharks and one 3,5-4 meter lemon shark. In total there were about 30-40 different sharks and some came really close to us (1,5 meter). It was an adrenaline rush. Then we went back up, back to Tavewa and one of the Norwegian guys took some pictures and made some movies and shared them with me. I went back to Nacula and after lunch the Awesome Adventures Fiji boat picked us up to go to our next island called Naviti where we would stay at Korovou Eco-Tour Resort. When we arrived Alex, Christian, Scott and me walked to Honeymoon Beach where we swam, took some pictures and watched the sunset. We came back for dinner which was pasta. In the evening we played some drinking games like: touch the cup, eyes up, eyes down and 5’s.

Sunday 29 May: after having bread with jam and tea for breakfast the Awesome Adventures Fiji boat picked us up again to go to an island called Kuata to Kuata Natural Resort. On every island the people were singing for us and playing guitar on the beach. We checked in and arrived in time for lunch: pizza. Then I laid in a hammock for the rest of the day and we had chicken, pasta, yellow rice and vegetables for dinner. In the evening we played the same games as the night before plus one new game.

Monday 30 May: breakfast was between 7 and 8 am and at 8.30 am we went on a reef snorkelling/ shark watching trip. We saw some 1,5 meter reef sharks and we were able to feed and touch them. When we came back at Kuata Natural Resort we had pasta and pizza for lunch. I laid at the beach with three girls from Norway called Mari, Tina and Viel and we swam and listened to our iPod’s. Later on I slept in a hammock for 2 hours and then we had pasta, chicken and vegetables for dinner. In the evening we went with a boat to an island called Waya Lailai to visit Alex, Christian and Max. Some Fijian entertainers danced for us, then we had to join in in two dancing games and after that we played the games: snake-eyes and one up-one down, two up, two down. Around midnight we had to return to Kuata.

Tuesday 31 May: after having toast and fruit for breakfast Scott and me decided to chill out on the beach for the first half of the day. We went for a swim and listened to our iPod. Sadly Scott was leaving back to the north islands again after we had been travelling together for 5 days. We had fish, chips, egg and vegetables for lunch and then two Danish guys called Dennis and Nicolay and me took 3 kayaks and kayaked to Waya Lailai. The sea was pretty rough and It took us about 45 minutes to reach Waya Lailai. The kayaks of me and Nicolay capsized, because we got hit by big waves. When we came back we got picked up by the Awesome Adventures Fiji boat that took me to Bounty Island. I arrived there just before sunset and after dropping my bags in my dorm I went for a 30 minute walk around the island. Bounty Island was the most beautiful island I have been, because of its beautiful beach and rich marine life. I saw crabs and sharks really close to the shore. After the walk I took a hot shower, my first hot shower in Fiji. Dinner was between 6.30 and 8 pm and I had roast beef, potato and vanilla ice-cream with banana for dessert. After dinner I listened to the staff that sang for us. Then I watched the French Open, the Champions league final between Barcelona and Manchester United and went on the internet. Sadly this was my last night on the Yasawas (group of islands on the west coast of the main island), because the next night I would be sleeping in Nadi again. I had been walking bare feet (the Fijian way) for the last 6 days since my flip flop broke on Nacula and really enjoyed it.

Wednesday 1 June: I had sausages, fruit and toast with jam for breakfast at 8 am, checked out and got picked up for my Seaspray sailing trip at 9.30 am. A small boat picked me up and brought me to the Awesome Adventures Fiji boat and from there we got dropped on a sailing boat called “Seaspray”. We sailed amongst the outer Manamuca Islands. We stopped two times that day for snorkelling and swimming, we did a traditional Fijian village visit and Kava ceremony on Mana. We also visited the Island Monuriki from the Tom Hanks movie “Cast Away” and had a bbq lunch. At the end of the day we were brought back to the Awesome Adventure Fiji boat were we picked up our “Mai Yasawa’’ photo book with 80 photos of the Yasawas. We returned back to Nadi and I booked a hostel called Tropic of Capricorn at the beach. I decided to go to sleep early as my flight the next day to Bangkok would leave at 9 am.

Thursday 2 June: I woke up at 5.40 am, had breakfast at 6 am, took a taxi with a Norwegian girl (Viel) I met on one of the islands and we checked in for the same flight to Sydney at 7 am.



Additional photos below
Photos: 64, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



16th June 2011
me drinking coconut milk in Kuata

<3
16th June 2011

Hi from Dubai
Hi Bram, The pictures look fantastic! You must have had a great time in Fiji. Hope you love Thailand as musch as we do. Try to go to Hua Hin we go there every year and really love that part of thailand also last time we went to Kho Kood at the Away Resort,check it out. Or the Peter Pan resort on Kho Kood, really basic but so much fun. Dubai is getting really hot now. We are off to Spain then Belgrade for the Summer break. Have fun.
16th June 2011

Fiji
Waauw Bram, wat een prachtige foto's weer. Het blauw is er blauwer dan blauw, genieten denk ik!! En wat doe je toch een hoop, je buit je jaartje ertussen uit helemaal uit en doet zoveel als mogelijk is, geweldig gewoon. Af en toe ben ik wel een beetje jaloers als ik al die mooie foto's zie en lees wat je allemaal meemaakt. Dit zal een reis zijn om nooit meer te vergeten en ik denk ook dat je er een heleboel vrienden bij hebt gemaakt, die je later misschien weer eens op kan gaan zoeken, waar dan ook ter wereld. Het verruimt hoe dan ook je blik. Lieve Bram, geniet nog flink van al wat je ziet en meemaakt. En ik denk dat je als een rijker mens terugkomt. Heel veel lieve groetjes van (tante) Lot uit een momenteel regenachtig Cuijk.
20th June 2011

Hoi Bram, Heel leuk om al je verhalen te lezen, denk dat je al meer van de wereld hebt gezien dan ik en supermooie foto's..... Ik was eind mei nog in dubai voor 2 weken en mocht twee keer meedoen met de hit fit lessen gegeven door Olaf, erg leerzaam en gezellig al was het erg warm, na 5 minuten drijfnat......brings back memories... Wij vliegen eind Juli naar Zuid Afrika en zijn daar dan in totaal een dag of 18, misschien kunnen we iets afspreken??? We zitten 1 week ten noorden van joburg en dan na een binnenlandse vlucht 10 dagen aan de zuidkust..... Groetjes, Ellen
22nd June 2011
me snorkelling during Seaspray sailing trip

Sure you're not drowning instead? ;)

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb