The last day at school


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Viti Levu
March 2nd 2011
Published: March 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

When we were kids, the last day of school was the best day ever. It meant summer. It meant long days playing outside with our friends and staying up late. It was everything we waited for during the school year.

Today was my last day at the kindie and it was so bittersweet. All good things in life come to an end and as this did today, I was so happy to have been a part of it. Sometimes in life we make a decision to do something and think that the outcome could be good but this was more than I could have ever expected.

The last three days has been filled with the children coming up to me and asking more questions about where I'm going, when I'm leaving and giving me gifts. I can't get over the giving. These people don't have much and I'd guess that some of the items are re-gifted so to speak, but still it is coming from their hearts and they are giving me something that they don't have much of themselves. I think we (those of us living in more developed countries) take so many of our material things for granted. Life is simpler here and there is a happiness here in this Nausori and school community that I've never seen before. Its just so incredible to witness and be a part of. These people have taught me so much!

I made it through both Monday and Tuesday without any tears. I have to admit it was hard at times. Then I reached today. In the morning class teacher Ester explained to the class that today was my last day and that I was going home to see my family after I visited Australia and New Zealand and that tomorrow they would not see me in the classroom anymore. Then she asked if any of them wanted to stand up and say anything. Slowly but surely about 12 kids raised their hands and stood and said a few words. Talk about things that tare at your heart...one little girl, Rayna, stood up and after fidgeting with her hands for a minute blurted out "please don't go." Oh yeah, and here came the tears. I couldn't believe it. She's one of the cute ones that also made me a picture earlier in the month. Many of the comments where "thank you," "we'll miss you," "come back to visit," but I was never expected one of them to so innocently say don't go. And then as their parents came to pick them up it all about hugs and kisses. The little boys and girls are just so adorable. Some of the mom's also gave me a hug and thanked me for giving my time with their children. It just reminds me that things in life don't have to be grand. I didn't have to come up with anything out of the ordinary, I just showed up everyday with an open heart and mind and let these children and families into my heart. And to see all of the smiling faces waving and shouting good-bye today was so wonderful. The afternoon class was about the same. I was holding it together as the children stood to say thank you and good-bye again but then one little girl, Tanisha, stood up and nearly shouted, "I love you." Oh goodness, here come the tears again. I guess I think back to some of the people from my childhood. I would come home and tell my parents about teachers or whatnot and they left a mark in my little world and perhaps I've done the same thing for some of these children here. I'll tell you one thing...they've definitely left a big mark in mine. I will cherish this experience for the rest of my life. I don't think it is something I'll ever be able to duplicate nor do I want to. It will be with me forever as a moment when I stopped all the hustle and bustle in my life and entered a world that allowed for a cultural exchange that has changed me. There are many things that are important in life but often they are not the things we think are important. I hope you all have enjoyed this part of the journey with me.

Tomorrow I head out to Nadi, the tourist city in Fiji, where I will check into a hostel for a night. Then on Friday morning I'm heading out on the Yasawa Flyer, a boat, for the Yasawa Islands and a place called Manta Ray Island Resort. I'm spending two nights there for some kayaking and snorkeling and then back to Nadi on Sunday afternoon and departing Monday to Australia. The never phase of this trip will be more of an active adventure I hope to have lots of fun with it! I've been dying to see Australia for several years and am quite excited to now have the chance. I'll keep the blogs coming and like I said, I hope to upload some photos soon.

Miss you all, CJ

Advertisement



2nd March 2011

Farewell Fiji
I'm so glad you've had such an amazing experience there at the school!! Sweet happy tears are good for the soul! What a life changing experience!! Looking forward to reading more about the adventures you're about to experience! :)
2nd March 2011

It sounds like you are having a great time. I am looking forward to reading about Australia.
2nd March 2011

Tear.
I teared up again!! Stop making me cry already! Have a great last weekend on Fiji! Can't wait to hear about your Australia adventures and all the :)'s to come!
3rd March 2011

last day at school
OMG Courtney...I smiled, laughed and cried with your blogs... thanks for sharing..keep them coming.. love, bev
3rd March 2011

I agree with Mamie (on all counts)! (((hugs))) <---- I'm only half kidding about that one! Hope it makes you laugh but also sending long distance love your way! Keep staying open to the experience!
6th March 2011

Sounds wonderful!
Ia happy to hear that you are having a fantastic time and meeting wonderful people.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0769s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb