Fiji!


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Viti Levu
November 15th 2006
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I landed at Nadi (pronounced Nan-di) airport in Fiji on November 15th after having departed LA on the evening of the 13th. CRAZY. Its hard to believe but its been over two months since I was there. Somehow the mass email that I sent about Fiji has disappeared from my files but when I find it I'll add it to this entry. For now the pictures will have to speak for themselves.

On a related topic though, I think I have had enough island trips for a while. I just like the mountains better than the water. Although I forced myself to go snorkeling on this trip, I am scared to death of sharks, get terribly sea sick and generally just prefer that my feet take me places.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Day one in FijiDay one in Fiji
Day one in Fiji

Viti Levu (the main island) isn't known for its beaches but after 12 hours on a plane this one looked quite inviting!
sandboardingsandboarding
sandboarding

It was something fun to try once but I wouldn't spend a whole day doing it. I stupidly let go of my board after climbing all the way to the top of the dune and it blew and tumbled to the bottom. I stood there helplessly and waited for someone to return it to me on their next lap up.
1st nights hostel1st nights hostel
1st nights hostel

Not too shabby. Even after sleeping the entire plane ride, I was so tired the first few nights that I passed out by 8:30pm.
1st nights hostel1st nights hostel
1st nights hostel

The way it worked in Fiji is that there were various resorts on various beaches and most of the resorts had choices in accommodation (from luxury to dorm style). This was the dorm but we were still able to use all the resort facilities!
My travel guide during the Fiji Experience part of my tripMy travel guide during the Fiji Experience part of my trip
My travel guide during the Fiji Experience part of my trip

Henry really annoyed me but most of the group seemed to find him funny....not sure what I was missing. Oh well.
Mud Baths!Mud Baths!
Mud Baths!

This was a fun activity. We spent the afternoon alternating between mud pools and hot springs. My skin has never felt so good!
Mamanuca Island ResortMamanuca Island Resort
Mamanuca Island Resort

where I spent the 2nd part of my time in Fiji


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb