The Colours of Levuka and the mystery of Fiji Gold


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Ovalau » Levuka
August 28th 2006
Saved: September 15th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Levuka is every bit as charming and friendly and colonial as the guide books say. I love it here. I've spent my time here exploring the town and relaxing by the seawall. I've gotten used to the sounds from the Pafco tuna cannery, but I'm not used to its smells yet!

Yesterday afternoon, I sat down on one of the benches along the seawall to try to write in my journal, but the scenery was too distracting. The sun was hot, but the cool breeze keeps the heat off. On one side of me was the sea, the gentle waves breaking on the rocks below me. Further out, reefs are marked by turquoise waters and a line of waves breaking on them. On my other side was Beach Street, with friendly people calling out 'Bula!' on their way to Sunday afternoon services. As I sat by the water, I saw two long, silver fish arc out of the water then back in.

Earlier that morning, I had been chased up the 199 steps of Mission Hill by butterflies. As I climbed, I could hear the choirs from the scattering of churches below me.

Last night, after kava at the hotel, I went to the Sunday night buffet at the Chinese restaurant. It was a combination of Chinese, Indian, and Fijian dishes. The restaurant is upstairs in one of the old buildings on Beach Street. I enjoyed my meal in the covered verandah overlooking the harbour, with a candle in a wine bottle to light my table.

I spent most of this morning reading in the shady gardens of the hotel, trying to avoid the sun as my face is getting redder every day. I watched birds sneaking into the dining room to scavenge the uncleared plates. Occasionally I would walk down Beach Street to make sure nothing exciting had happened. It never did.


The night I arrived here from Suva I ordered a Fiji Gold at the hotel bar. I really enjoyed it, even more than Fiji Bitter. I tried ordering it last night as it was on the menu, but they didn't have it. Tonight, it was on the menu at Whale's Tale, where I ate. But again, they didn't have it. I might try ordering it everywhere from now on, not just because I'd like to have it again, but because it's strangely amusing that it's on all the menus but no one has it!

Whale's Tale was a charming place to eat. The kitchen is in a bure within the restaurant. There was Fijian music playing (with the cook singing along while he prepared my food), and the staff kept me company while I ate. Before going for dinner, I sat by the water and watched the light fade as the sun set behind the island. First the boys went for a swim, and then later some girls went swimming.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

BrownBrown
Brown

Tapa Cloth in the upstairs hallway of the Royal Hotel
Royal HotelRoyal Hotel
Royal Hotel

The oldest hotel in Fiji, and a fantastic budget place to stay.
Levuka Primary SchoolLevuka Primary School
Levuka Primary School

I believe this is the oldest school in Fiji.
Sacred Heart ChurchSacred Heart Church
Sacred Heart Church

On top of the tower is one of the beacons to guide ships past the reefs and into the harbour.
Levuka Methodist ChurchLevuka Methodist Church
Levuka Methodist Church

The oldest church in Fiji (I think).
199 Steps of Mission Hill199 Steps of Mission Hill
199 Steps of Mission Hill

There aren't really 199 steps, but it's a bit of a hike to get up. The view is worth it though.
The Old Masonic LodgeThe Old Masonic Lodge
The Old Masonic Lodge

The lodge burned down in 2000 during the most recent coup in Fiji.


Comments only available on published blogs

16th October 2006

Selmat from Malaysia
Hello Tannis, I kind'a chuckled when I was reading about your exciting holiday in Fiji....on the old capital. Took me back home. Especially the bit aboutt you trying to order a Fiji Gold from the menu.....not surprisingly of course, that it wasn't there...!! To an ordinary Fijian, such incidences are not uncommon. I am actually a journalist from Fiji's only television station studying in Malaysia. I return home in a fortnight. For now, please enjoy your holidays. Moce...
8th October 2009

WORLDS GOLDEN ISLAND LEVUKA
U ONE N ONLY ISLAND IN D SKY MY E LEVUKA LOVE IT'
28th June 2010

Beautiful
I really want to come and spend my weekend visiting the sunset on the island

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb