Bula!


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Nadi
July 11th 2008
Published: July 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

Just a quick note to let you know i'm in Fiji now!

In Taupo I couldn't get on the crossing, but did a few good walks to see craters of the moon, the volcanic activity center and climbed a mini mountain (far too fast!).

I arrived in Nadi yesterday, to a guy at the airport who's job seemed to be to greet anyone looking like a backpaker, stick a shell necklace around thier neck and point them towards the correct pickup for their hostel!

After settling in and getting some dinner (freshly caught fish and mash!), whilst being asked if I needed more water/tea etc by 'Mama' and her staff. One of the staff joins me, before I leave for bed he reminds me that there's free tea and breakfast in the morning - "what time" I asked, "Whenever you wake up" he said "You're on Fiji time now"!

After being rudely awakened by 'waves' (if you can call them that) crashing on shore about 8:30 I decided to get dressed and head downstaires - before I got the the bottom Mama noticed me, "Good morning Marc, tea or coffee - grab a seat outside"! Within 5 mins I was eating tea and toast whilst staring at the strangely flat ocean here (i noticed flying in - that at least the west cost seems to have a sandbank or something far off sure which the main ocean breaks on, which leaves the shoreline almost as flat as a swimming pool!).

As for the weather, sunny and warm with a light breeze!

I hope your all enjoying yourselfs - I am!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb