My Last Week


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
April 27th 2011
Published: April 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, the time is finally here.... time for me to start saying my goodbyes to paradise and start thinking about heading off to my next adventure.

The last few weeks here on Rarotonga have been absolutely amazing. I completed my Divemaster and have been having the time of my life. The people I have met and the memories we have made are absolutely priceless and as I look forward to coming home to see all of those that I have thanked so much for their support, I am a bit apprehensive because my life has changed so much since I left. When I got here I was still a New Yorker at heart, clinging to my Blackberry for dear life and desperately wondering what the hell I had gotten myself into. Now, I abhor the idea of being tied to a cell phone, cant be bothered to put on anything more than a bikini and run my life by island time, where everything takes just.... a..... little.... bit..... longer. Thank goodness I am only back to "reality" for a few weeks before I take off for sailing in Turkey because God knows I cant drive on the right side of the road anymore and I am sure to piss off more than a few friends with my very un-Courtney like tardiness.

I once said that I liked diving, but didnt love it, and often questioned my motives for coming here. Since then I have grown to love the sport and cant wait to see where all it takes me. I was honored when my boss told me that I have been his favourite intern so far and that he never saw anything less than absolute conviction towards my job and my studies. I have even been offered to come back and work for him whenever I choose. Its a great feeling.

I have become very close with a few local families on the island as well, mostly due to the fact that I started seeing a guy that played for the local rugby team. He is actually a South African that is an Instructor at our rival dive shop, but the staff from both places have been quite good friends for some time now. Because of going to rugby games and team BBQs though, I have been welcomed into the community and offered numerous places to stay WHEN I return. The families here have given me some of the best times on this island, and I am forever grateful.

Why is it that as soon as you start to feel at home somewhere, its time to leave? I guess its just so we always end on a good note that sets the tone for whenever we look back on a place. I will be full of smiles remembering Rarotonga and her people, and I do hope to get back to this speck of dirt someday. It has been life-changing to say the least.

Family and friends: one more week until I see you!!!! Time has both flown, and crept, and I am going to be extremely impatient my entire trip home. Love to you all and big hugs soon!!

So long Raro.... its been real.
😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb