Vaka Eiva Iron Races


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
November 17th 2008
Published: June 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

LaunchingLaunchingLaunching

Queued up, waiting to get on the water. We got a pretty good boat, it's pretty much brand new. Ngakau Toa got one and Te Tupu (the opposition) got another. This is the Te Tupu canoe.
So I don't have much else to do today so I'm writing the text. Truthfully, this happened half a year ago and I don't really have too much to add, looks like my photo captions took care of most of it. But I can clarify about the race, I forget if that's in the captions or not.

So this was the Vaka Eiva Iron Race, mixed category, which means 3 girls, 3 guys in a boat. I had been trying to get into the regular men's race, but I didn't, I think our club only raced one boat for it. Anyways, I think this Iron race was 12k's or something, which I think took around an hour. As far as Iron races go, it actually wasn't that long at all. All Iron means is you go continuous and it's a long distance. That can range from 8k's to 30 probably.

The race was pretty good from what I recall. It always takes a little getting used to a new crew, and I'm still pretty low confidence, but we got into a decent rhythm and it worked out alright. I was definitely the youngest in our crew. That's about it,
Getting GoneGetting GoneGetting Gone

Finally got our canoe to the ramp to put in. Too many canoe and only one launch ramp.
the pictures say more than I can.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Finally in the BoatFinally in the Boat
Finally in the Boat

Finally in the boat. I'm sitting two seat, which puts more pressure on me than five but I like it more.
Head OutHead Out
Head Out

Heading out over the finish line, back in 12k's.
Crossing the LineCrossing the Line
Crossing the Line

Crossing the finish line 12 kilometers later. Pretty tired at this boat, having chased that yellow boat for almost the whole race. Really wish we had caught them but they were faster...
Getting OutGetting Out
Getting Out

As I'm hoping out of the boat after the race. Pretty damn exhausted at this point. Refreshing to jump in the water, but I wish it were cooler.
On the RampOn the Ramp
On the Ramp

It took forever to get to the ramp so we could get our boat out of the water. Way too many canoes in too small an area. Plus crews kept cutting us off.
The LineupThe Lineup
The Lineup

Here's the crew. It's actually a compilation of three teams, the steerer was from Team Phoenix. I can't remember the name of the team the other four are from, it was a Maori name and I have more trouble with those.
Awards CeremonyAwards Ceremony
Awards Ceremony

So this was a surprise. We thought at best we got 3rd. When it wasn't us I almost left. And, better yet, when they called our team, I didn't know the team name so I didn't realize it was us until I saw the others walking up. A pretty cool surprise. Unfortunately the pic didn't come out great, I'm trying to get a better one from some of the other paddlers on the boat but haven't received it yet.


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb