Day 51 Mission Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
November 18th 2014
Published: November 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

We went to pick up our new home for the next few weeks, our new campervan. He had already been named unfortunately, hello Espacio (except I call him Mr E). Mr E is an automatic, whose gearstick and indicators are on the opposite side to what both Em and I are used to. Its kind of like driving a go kart. A much bigger go kart. We went back via a woolworths to get some supplies and then I decided to sort out my Aussie sim card as Australia is seemingly stingy with its wifi. The lady was pretty helpful although it was only a couple hours after when it wasn't working that I realised she never actually took my payment so I had no credit on there.



Upon advice for tourist offices, they said we should go the longer route to Mission beach and stop off via Lake Eacham and the Milla Milla falls (herbal essences and Peter Andre's waterfall backdrop). We arrived first at Lake Eacham and it was very beautiful. Our first impulses obviously were to jump in and have a swim because its so hot driving along in Mr E. Especially as in order to limit the fuel consumption we were doing so without aircon and just the windows all the way down (you can imagine what this does to my already pushing the limits of frizzy hair). We had a paddle with barely any people around then sat on the benches and ate some lunch.



Next stop was time to get our mysterious girl on. I have to say it wasn't that amazing. It is dry season so although there is a bit of water, there isn't very much. This obviously instantly makes it far less spectacular. I also didn't especially recognise it. Filled to the brim with hair flicking girl tourist we had a swift look and then hit the road Jack.



After some confusion, we are inevitably going to get pretty lost sometimes, (on the first day was a bit worrying) we made it to Bingil bay, a couple minutes from Mission Beach itself. We sat had our dinner with the sunset, lounging in our camping chairs. Pretty cool, I get this campervanning thing for this.



Until, the downside of bugs reared its head whilst I was on return from brushing my teeth. I was using my phone light as wandering back to Mr E and I feel this THUD on the side of my head. Ducking down and moving round like an idiot plus turning off the phone light didn't want to attract more of what I thought was a moth. So I stand up, go to brush my hair off and I feel this monstrous beast on the side of my head.



“Emily, can you just check if there is a bug on the side of my head”



She moved her light up to the side of my head.



“OMG LOU ITS HUGEEEEE”



“Brilliant. Can you get it off because I can't see it?”



“I CANT TOUCH IT LOU ITS MASSIVE”



“Use a stick, AHH get it out”





Emily begins prodding this gigantic thing that has taken nest right by my ear. As she prods away this thing is hissing right by my ear (I'm actually getting goosebumps writing this), after what felt like 2 minutes of this prodding hissing thing, the bugger finally lands on the floor. I caught a glimpse of one its huge beetle legs and that was enough for me. We shook ourselves off and hid from the bugs in the van, not once after did we turn on any light that night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb