Friday - surf lesson


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
October 6th 2014
Published: October 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today I had a little hangover after the bottle and a half of wine I drank last night! Oh how I do regret my excess lol. So after. Lay in, shower and a bacon and egg cob I was feeling more human again lol.



I was due to be picked up from the hostel at 12.15 and a girl in my dorm room was also doing the lesson. The Mojo surf people arrived and we got on the mini bus along with several other people and then we went to a couple of other places to pick up some more people and then we headed to the beach. During the ride we were shown a surf safety video about carrying your board into the water, currents, first aid, how to fall off safely etc.



On arrival we put our valuables in a lock box in the van and then we were given long sleeved black tops to wear whilst we were surfing. Then we took our boards down to the beach for our lesson.



Our first task was to warm up so a quick run on the beach and a few other warm up and stretching exercises and then we were ready to go. We were taught 3 different ways to stand up,on the board Nd practiced them a few times each before heading into the sea to catch some waves.



Right now I will say that it is much harder than it looks and finding your balance is key. Suffice to say I was pants! At first I couldn't even get on the board without falling off again. Then with some assistance from the instructor I managed to get on the board and then came the task of trying to stand up. Again I failed spectacularly at this and after many attempts I came back on to dry land for some water and a rest. The instructor was asking me how I was getting on and so I summed it up,in one word and said pants!



Bless her she got me a different wider board and took me out into the surf and helped me. I have to say it was easier on the wider board and with her holding the board to steady it I did manage to stand up a few times and got some top tips. I then had to give the board over to someone else and got a narrower board and went out to play again, badly! I still couldn't master the important stand up on the board thing, quite key really lol.



So after a number of attempts I decided to call it a day. I'd drunk half the ocean and I was totally knackered as it appears surfing is hard work, who'd have thunk it :-) as it was the lesson was nearly over with anyway. So we washed the sand off our boards and took them back to the van. There quite heavy and awkward to carry too.



When we got back to the van we took a quick dip,in the fresh water lake which is very brown in colour and is surrounded by tea trees which is what gives the water it's colour.



We headed back to the Art Factory brewery from a review of the photos that had been taken throughout the lesson and we could purchase them if we wanted, however I didn't buy any of mine as I didn't like them. There were some good action shots taken just not of me lol.



I came back to the room showered changed had some food and an early night as I was knackered.



Xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1014.7kb