1 month down


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
January 3rd 2010
Published: January 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Tallow BeachTallow BeachTallow Beach

Me, myself and I enjoying the view

1 month down...




Yesterday marked one month since I arrived back in Australia. Its been an eventful month including spending a few days in Newcastle (2 hours north of Sydney) with Nick, an Aussie I met in the US last April. Catching a ride to Byron Bay (9 hours north of Sydney) with two strangers I found on a ride-share website. I'm obviously still alive however don't think I'll be doing that alone again. Spending Christmas road-tripping from Melbourne to Sydney with two avid golfers who were patient enough to take me with them Christmas morning and attempt to teach me how to play. And celebrating New Years 2010 in the streets of Sydney with over 1.5 million other people watching the famous Sydney Harbor Bridge fireworks.

Over this past month I have caught up with old friends, coworkers and roommates from last time I lived in Manly (a beach town about 30 minutes outside of downtown Sydney). I have also met new people, both locals and other travelers, who have added to my experience this time around. Only some do I hope to see again... Its been great to be back, however, so far its
Road-trip CrewRoad-trip CrewRoad-trip Crew

Drove from Melbourne to Sydney with Jeremy and Jon over Christmas
just been a nice long vacation.

Next week I am moving to Perth (West Coast Australia about a four hour flight from Sydney) with Briana (a friend from Portland that is here with me), where I hope to settle down for at least several months. It will be nice to find a place to live (no more couch surfing), get a job (stop spending all my savings) and make some new friends!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb