A Whole Lot Of Nothing


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
March 9th 2006
Published: March 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Role ModelRole ModelRole Model

At Rachael's parents house, Jasper the cat wins first prize in perfecting the art of doing nothing.
So it's Thursday....Wednesday...Thursday, depending on whatever country you are living in, and I really don't have that much to say, except that here is where I am spending my vacation, and it is exactly what a vacation should be. I've done nothing more than...well, nothing really. Not that nothing doesn't feel like nothing, it feels like something. Sorta like negative space is positive space....sorta like when in Graphic Design I try to convince my clients time and time again that the WHITE SPACE in their ad does not have to be filled...the emptiness, the nothingness...it's a good thing. And it's surely what makes the positive space, the somethingness...exist. Does that make sense? I guess put simply, it's the quiet downtime that is treasured as much as the chaos and exiliration of traveling and all of life's other adventures.

I've been using Australia as my little nest to read, write, draw, paint, cook, take lots of walks and sit quietly, Rachael and Jason continue to be super host and hostess, and I am becoming #1 houseguest by thanking them with homecooked meals.

Chocolate chip banana bread wins all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Byron Bay LighthouseByron Bay Lighthouse
Byron Bay Lighthouse

Rachael & Jason take me to Byron Bay for a few days, where consistent rain and moody skies give great way for reading books and taking naps.
Got Milk?Got Milk?
Got Milk?

Upon arrival to Byron Bay we receive a complimentary milk with keys to our seashore cabin...what's the milk for rachael?..why for our afternoon tea, of course.
RestroomsRestrooms
Restrooms

I like the Aussie sense of humor...here's the doorway for the men's room at a restaurant...get it, get it? (the trunk was missing for the ladies room)
Red GingerRed Ginger
Red Ginger

The crappy weather keeps us in, except of course to go out and try the food. Jason and I at Red Ginger...
Spirit FiguresSpirit Figures
Spirit Figures

Sculpture at restaurant THE BALCONY
HappinessHappiness
Happiness

Banner hanging in restaurant entrance


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb