leg 4 of sophie's world tour begins


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
March 31st 2007
Published: March 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

All good adventures start with a hug, and I had heaps before departing Australia. There were hugs from the family and hugs from the stuccwits, but my last Aussie hug came from airport security. After sauntering through the metal detector, I was taken up for questioning.

SECURITY MAN: so why are you smiling so much?
ME: well, i'm going on an international adventure! i love adventures!
SECURITY MAN: but you're leaving Australia. everyone else leaving comes through with tears in their eyes, thinking of all the lovely people they'll miss. what about you?
ME: well, i'll be back! but i could use one last aussie hug. may i?
SECURITY MAN: i don't think i can on the job...errr... alright then!

Having cheerily acquired my first embrace from a security figure who wasn't trying to restrain me, I cheerily headed onward to the Customs booth. After a few cursory questions about my destination and purpose of travel, my customs agent enquired, "so, you live in newtown, do you?"

I took a double-take, knowing bloody well home addresses don't come on passports or boarding passes.

"How did you know?" I replied warily.
"Well, you are dressed very art-ily...do you dabble in the arts?"
"ah yes! the arteests of newtown, dumpster diving divas and opshop aficionados--perhaps the most resourceful lot within the city limits! a sharp eye young chap. i AM from newtown."

And a good thing too. If it hadn't been for my trusty poncho that once doubled as a throw rug in stucco (until I cut a hole in it), I would have frozen on the plane! Too pov to pay $5 for the jetstar blankie services, I could thank my lucky stars for stellar scissor work--a basic tenet of craft in the repetoire of newtown arteests!


Advertisement



31st March 2007

allo stranger!
hey sofia! sounds like your still adventuring good to hear! i'm in koh samui dont suppose this is where your heading?! charlie of siem reap to bangkok border crossing hell ride
2nd April 2007

Where you headed girl?
Great to hear that you are taking off once again. Where exactly are you headed for? I am still in Ireland but plan a move to the UK soon so if your in the neighbourhood look me up sista Nicola

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.5kb