THE BEAUTIFUL GRANADA ...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
February 6th 2007
Published: February 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The first overnight train ride in the TREN HOTEL - an experience in itself.
Although my Eurail Pass is for First Class, it was full for this 8 hour journey and even if it weren't, I wouldn't have travelled this way. This Eurail First Class trip costs an extra Eu130 plus booking fee, so I settled for Tourist Class which was only Eu43.00 plus the booking fee.
We rolled out of Valencia Station at 12.50am bound for Granada. For 6 hours it was the same as flying in economy class with any airline. Most people can't really sleep well sitting up, there are constant comings and goings, and the usual mad scramble to have a cigarette outside the train at each stop. I can appreciate this however, because of all the years I smoked. In the last 1 1-2 hours of the trip it improved out of sight! The half light showed the Sierra Nevada mountain, wearing a light covering of snow on it's peaks, slipping silently past us. The mist hung heavy and still all round, briefly parting to reveal the occasional dark and silent 2 storey Spanish country house.

It was fully daylight when we arrived here and I would be fine wouldn't I, because I had downloaded a MAP!!?? to find my way to this Hostel. Of course the No. 3 and 33 buses and their designated stop which I needed, was nowhere in sight. However, a very nice young bloke with huge backpack who'd also come down on the train was, so I asked him if he was going to the Oasis Backpackers Hostel. He answered in a very Australian accent that he was, so since he spoke no Spanish but could read maps and I speak a bit of Spanish but can't read maps - we teamed up and arrived here with no problems. Seems like when I need them, there is always someone around who can help me find the way. Very comforting that!

This Hostel is easily the best one I've seen and I did a lot of researching before I left home. It
is also very high on the list with Lonely Planet. It is nearly always full and I can see why.
Situated in the ancient Arabic Quarter which meanders down the side of a large hill, very close to the Alhambra and in a very old, colourful and interesting area. The narrow, cobblestoned and stairwayed streets aren't built for cars and the few which do allow traffic are very dicy to navigate. The cars (and small trucks!) travel very fast even around sharp narrow corners and it's a case of 'pedestrians beware'. Even smaller laneways lead off these narrow streets and often at their end open into small spaces with fountains and trees. Sometimes one can catch over the old rooftops, tantalising glimpses of even older Moorish buildings. An altogether enchanting mixture for me!

My stay here is until Saturday morning when I travel on to Seville, so I never miss an opportunity to wander and explore the myriad of bazaars and interesting little shops in every laneway. Also to simply sit in the town square drinking Turkish tea in small glasses (which my friend Nihal has introduced me to) and watch the other tourists rushing madly around. Tomorrow, my camera and I will spend our day at the Alhambra and I'm really looking forward to this. It seems it will take all day to see all of the area which comprises the Alhambra.

So, more tomorrow ...

Ibu

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb