Gill Goes... Trekking The Bibbulmun Track End to End... to Canning Temp Camp via Brookton Shelter


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
May 9th 2016
Published: January 19th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Early MorningEarly MorningEarly Morning

A view from my sleeping bag
Day 5

Mt Dale Shelter to Canning Temprorary Campsite via Brookton Shelter

11 km

Fantastic sleep, so quiet. Lie on my mat watching night turn to day. Another short day due to two diversions- one first going around Brookton Shelter, and the second one that has been put in place is for a section of the track from Brookton to Canning. There is prescribed burning scheduled for the Monadnocks National Park which includes the Canning Shelter - 21.3 km of the track has been closed necessitating a 24 km diversion and a temporary campsite has been set up for walkers. The prescribed burn information became available to me just before I left through the Bibb Track website so I knew what to expect. The BTF outlined that there was to be water and a portaloo at the temp site but a tent would be required. Given that I was carrying a tent for the whole walk I was prepared. So... given my short day I was in no hurry to get going. Made my first entry in the Red Book this morning. What Red Book you ask? Read on ...

At each shelter are 2 books in a plastic box (as well as a number of other random objects- books, sheets of newspaper, candles, matches, pens, tent pegs...various bits and pieces really), one book is green and the other red. The green book is a log book that the Department of Parks and Wildlife rangers use to help keep track of walkers in emergency situations (mostly bushfire) and the Bibb Track Foundation use to collect track user statistics for general data and grant applications. When you get into camp you just enter your name/track name, age, sex, where you live, the start and end point for your walk, whether you are staying overnight and a general comment (if you want to). The red book is for making whatever entry you might like - general comments, your personal progress report, poems, rants, raves, random lists... whatever. It makes for some interesting reading. I think I've left my first entry for Day 5 because I now really have the confidence that I am going to get to the end- I am feeling good and a routine of sorts has emerged.

Back to the day... The birds are making a racket as I head off at 08:35- very flat route, nice grasslands and a view of Mt Dale. Very easy walking. Meet a fellow on track who tells me that the track diversion to Brookton Shelter is no longer in place (really? there's still a diversion sign I tell him. Nah, it's open, he says- the waugal markers are out and the hut is up (but you can't stay there yet as there is no roof and works are still ongoing). OK... (I am still dubious about being lead astray; I'm so rule driven and law abiding, but ... ). 10 minutes of deliberation later the decision is made- I'm actually pleased about this as I'm very keen to see the new hut style- a mud brick construction has replaced the timber style as they are more likely to survive bushfire. There are a few camps ahead of me that have previously burnt down and all are going to be mud brick. Half way into the Brookton section I then meet Ian and Jim (The Mad Axeman) who have overnighted at Canning temp camp and have a few tips on minimising tomorrow's long, boring powerline road diversion into Monadnocks. Jim also offers me a lift for a potential track
Mud MapMud MapMud Map

Jim and Ian had meticulously drawn a map to cut off a corner off tomorrow's long and boring diversion along the powerline road
closure next week if I get stuck (it will only cost me a coffee and cake at The Blue Wren Cafe in Dwellingup he says!). Proves to be a busy morning on the track - the next hiker I meet is Stuart - he's a fireman who is end to ending S-N in 40 days to raise awareness for mental health issues and suicide prevention following the death of a colleague. I am beginning to learn that there are lots of reasons for walking, some altruistic, some not ... lots of stories.

Reach the Brookton Shelter at 11:00 (despite it being only 7.7km there have been some nice interludes and photo ops). Take a long stop and enjoy a coffee/cake/apple (thanks Lill). The shelter is looking great. Only the walls are up but it seems really big- especially the toilet block- it is palatial in size! The bush all around is regenerating and provides a striking contrast of colours with the increasingly blue sky. As I make my way toward Brookton Highway crossover the noise of traffic intrudes - it sounds like a chainsaw cutting the still air. This 2.6 km section is wide and flat and is wheelchair
Brookton ShelterBrookton ShelterBrookton Shelter

The only thing standing from the original Brookton Hut built in 1996
friendly. With the highway comes a spot for parking (good day walker vehicle access point) and a distance marker- I have the first 68km under my belt! On to the powerline trail and then the beginning of the trail diversion. There is a good info sign and map to follow (I had made a hard copy of it before I began the walk so knew what to expect, taking a photo is a good idea if you don't have this luxury, or even copying it straight onto your track map if you don't mind marking your maps). The powerline road is a long one, a long straight one. I don't mind it. Unfortunately though it is peppered with rubbish, as in trailer loads, in some sections. Such a shame.

The temp camp sign suddenly appears- it is set a ways off the powerline road and is a big lumpy clearing complete with the portaloo (and a hand basin!!) and 2 jerry cans of water. I am very early, its only 13:15. Plenty of time to choose a camp site. Lots of creaky trees. I contemplate being squashed in the night by a falling tree and pick a spot. Fingers
The New Brookton ShelterThe New Brookton ShelterThe New Brookton Shelter

A work in progress
crossed. Spend the rest of the afternoon making a fire pit, having a wash and going for a wander. Quite a few wildflowers around, a couple of fungi, lots of midgeys, lots of birds. Sun is behind the tree line at 17:13 (you can see I have lots of time to be very specific with recording the times). Light my fire, decide it is too close to the tent now that the wind is up, put out the fire, move, rebuild the fire, eat my dinner, now what? No company tonight. I enjoy my fire but hit the tent early. Tonight is the coldest so far, I guess it's being in an open clearing in the bush without a hut. Make a start on my book reading by headtorch, but give up when I think I can hear a vehicle. Headtorch off. No more noise. I'm asleep.



Impressions of the day

The new style huts are going to be great. Powerlines are your friend. My dehydrated hummus for lunch is superb- winner, winner, the Moroccan beef and couscous for dinner is not.

Birds today- Western whistler, goldfinch (?), raven, black cockatoo, 28's, grey fantail
Brookton ShelterBrookton ShelterBrookton Shelter

Mudbrick design

Body assessment- all good!

Total people seen for the day -1 day walkers, 3 multi day walkers


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Morning Tea StopMorning Tea Stop
Morning Tea Stop

Fruit cake this morning
Brookton Shelter Closure SignBrookton Shelter Closure Sign
Brookton Shelter Closure Sign

Only the southern closure sign was evident, not sure what happened to the northern sign
Progress Marker at Brookton Highway CrossoverProgress Marker at Brookton Highway Crossover
Progress Marker at Brookton Highway Crossover

From here it is 2.6km back into Brookton hut
Burnt Out TrashBurnt Out Trash
Burnt Out Trash

Unfortunately lots of trash being dumped in the bush around here


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb