Gill Goes... Trekking The Bibbulmun Track End to End... Hewett's Hill


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
May 5th 2016
Published: December 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Northern TerminusNorthern TerminusNorthern Terminus

The beginning
Day 1

Northern Terminus to Hewett's Hill Shelter

12.1 km

After much preparation and anticipation it's time.

Reluctantly one of my sons drives me to the Northern terminus in Kalamunda, it's only 40 mins drive from our place. It's a largely silent drive. I ask what he thinks about me doing this - his response is, "it's just another one of your treks really", so, with those sentiments ringing in my ears, "just another one of my treks" begins...

But first, accost a random stranger to take the obligatory photo of me at the trail head and at 09:55 I take my first fully loaded steps. It's an overcast 21 degrees C, perfect southern hemisphere autumn walking conditions but at the 20 minute mark it's already time to strip off a layer. There's light local foot traffic as I make my way through familiar bushland, through the old golf course and up the power line crossover, becoming hotter and sweatier by the second. Already I have congratulated myself on an autumn/winter hike, for those who know me I am not a warm weather fan. Meet a fellow hiker at the top of the hill also fully
1st Waugyl Marker1st Waugyl Marker1st Waugyl Marker

Ever present trail marker (well, usually ever present ... except when you're, dare I say, a bit lost.)
loaded, he is training for the Ridge Walk in the Stirling Ranges- only about a hundred times more rugged than this one, he doesn't look as if he has worked up even one bead of sweat ( I, however, am now beetroot red and dripping). I'm sure he'll nail the Ridge Walk http://www.stirlingrange.com.au/viewStory/Ridge-Walk.

Come across the first of many boot cleaning stations, the stations are built to try to help prevent the spread of dieback (Phytophthora cinnamomi), a soil born disease that kills jarrah, banksia and grass trees amongst other plants.

https://www.dpaw.wa.gov.au/management/pests-diseases/phytophthora-dieback.

This station is a new model- one that you stand on, pump a bulb and water sprays your shoes. Unfortunately someone has hacked off the bulb rendering it useless. Decide to break out my new poles - they absolutely make a difference. I don't normally use them but was advised that they are beyond useful on a long distance walk with a pack such as this so have invested in some Black Diamond poles recommended by Mountain Design staff, and well reviewed. Have my first drink after an hour or so... I wonder how many times this process will be repeated. I'm feeling pretty good
So Many Markers, So Many SignsSo Many Markers, So Many SignsSo Many Markers, So Many Signs

Still not sure what the pink ones are for
as I cross my first little milestone at Fern Rd knowing that the camel farm is very close.

The trail has been remarkably well sign posted and I haven't had a lost moment (mind you I have now walked this bit 3 times previously to avoid a lost moment on Day 1). Decide celebrations are due and I know that the camel farm has scones... with cream... and jam. Take a lovely break drinking tea and devouring scones watching the sky darken with purple clouds and toast my "just another one of my treks".

Arrive into camp super early, as in 13:25 early. What to do? There's no one else here (yay). So many choices. This is what I do:

1. Take a photo of the hut sign (gives me a time stamp)

2. Stretches (diligently)

3. Write in green book (proof, as well as many other reasons for the green book- I'll enlarge on the green book later)

4. Go find firewood (the purple sky has morphed into a dark grey sky and it smells like rain)

5. Haul wood back to camp and store it under a hollow log and eaves
PeacePeacePeace

A sign of things to come, thanks to whoever built this.
of hut

6. Get sleeping stuff out

7. Get food out (don't eat my lunch or afternoon tea as stuffed with scones... and cream ... and jam- now I am 2 food portions ahead of my incredibly detailed food planner!)

8. Drink more tea

9. Have a wash using the 1 cup of hot water left in my thermos in a wet bag (it's very liberating washing in the bush) and put my night clothes on (crocs, leggings, merino short sleeve t, fleece)

10. Boil water and refill thermos (LOVE my thermos) for dinner

11. Procrastinate for 30 minutes deciding whether to eat lunch for dinner, or dinner for dinner (go the dinner option - a ham roll in a warm bag for 7 hours- nah...)

12. Sit on bench watching the birds (magpies, grey fantails, black cockatoos, 28's) when 2 kangaroos appear (sooo Australian)

13. Take out crossword from 22nd April - it's still not even 17:00



Just after 17:00 the mosquitos arrive, as does another hiker, Paul. Decide to pitch my inner tent in the hut (for the mosquitos, not the other hiker). Find a tiny bit
Ominous SkyOminous SkyOminous Sky

Taken from the Camel Farm balcony. A busy part of the track as it is an access point for the track, as well as a camel farm ... as well as a mountain bike trail (Scorpion Trail) ... as well as a cafe with toilets ... as well as bang in the middle of 2 national parks.
of a mossie coil. Paul takes over the fire and we spend the next 3 hours sitting in front of the fire chatting. Not too cold, a bit windy. I love it. Go to bed at 8:30 completely full (my dinner portion of chilli, whilst delicious, is waaaaayyyyyy too much, or maybe it was the 3 more cups of tea). I feel good though, the first day is under my belt (or in my case tight waist band). I start to relax (I don't think it's just another one of my treks!).



Impressions of Hewett's Hill Hut

Curious resident magpies, mosquitos, there's toilet roll, noise from occasional plane, wrigglers in the water tank (left handside if looking at the hut)

Body assessment- L neck and shoulder slightly stiff, all else OK

Total people seen for the day - 9 (excluding the camel farm people)


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Had to do itHad to do it
Had to do it

Two of my favourite things- scones and a stomy sky. Perfect storm right here
Bibb Track RegisterBibb Track Register
Bibb Track Register

Day 1 signed in- This is the green book that you record a few basic details of your visit- allows for collation of data, imparts info to other hikers, can be used in emergencies by DPAW, etc.
My Spot For The NightMy Spot For The Night
My Spot For The Night

The before I put up my tent mosquito proof inner layer shot
Australian BirdlifeAustralian Birdlife
Australian Birdlife

The friendly magpie at Hewett's, such a beautiful songbird when its not swooping season
Camp FireCamp Fire
Camp Fire

Fires are allowed in the fire rings at many of the huts between March and December. A fire ban exists outside of these dates


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb