Storytime & an Aussie Vocab Lesson


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
September 1st 2008
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, first off I would like to say I know I haven't been updating the blog as frequently as I probably should. Even though I absolutely love it here, I feel like on a day-to-day basis there isn't a whole lot that is super eventful or different from the US. However, there are a number of stories that I have been meaning to update everyone on, as well as a long-overdue Aussie slang lesson : ) So here it goes...

Story #1: "Oh, you're from the US...I know ALL about the US"
Working at the bookshop has about a million and a half perks (rounding up to the closest million and a half, that is). My manager and co-workers are super laid-back and friendly, I finally got PAID so I have some awesome spending money, it is a 20 second walk from my residence, I get discounts on books and supplies, there is free hot chocolate and gummy snakes (which may very well be the BEST perk of them all), AND I get to interact with many Australians. This last one may seem obvious, as I am IN Australia so naturally I should be interacting a lot w/ Australians; however, because all the US Study Abroad students live together, hang out together, and essentially go to all of the same classes, I feel that a lot of students here have had very little interaction with the Aussies. Which is just a shame, because let me tell you, they are AWESOME = ) The first character I have to mention is my co-worker at the bookshop, Widge. That's right, Widge. I'm pretty sure his real name is Talwin and I've been told his full name is "Talwin Widgeus" but I'm not exactly sure as to how much truth is in that... Anyway, he is a crazy, full-of-energy, middle-aged man who LOVES to do American impersonations. These mostly include him waddling with his feet pointed outwards (I guess like a cowboy? maybe) and saying (through the corner of his mouth only) "Well, Goddaym, ya'll...pilgrim!" That's about all he's got...it's always the same, and always funny. He's been helping me out with learning the Aussie slang (more on that later of course) so I've decided to help him out and teach him some American slang. So far I've actually only taught him one phrase because he hasn't picked it up completely yet. Any guesses as to what it is? Hint: John, you would be proud! On my first day on my way out I did a peace sign and said "peace out, girl scout!" He was, of course, a fan of the phrase. However, he often forgets the exact wording, and I'm pretty sure I've heard every possible alteration. My favorite so far is "So Long, Mother-scout!"
Now, Widge isn't the only one that is interested in American culture. Two guys were in the shop a couple weeks ago and when they found out that I was American, they proceeded to tell me that they knew everything about America. What did they mention? The statue of Liberty? President Bush? The upcoming election? Johnny Depp? Nope! Instead, this is what I got: "Oh, yeah, we know ALL about America. That's where all the men in speedos rollerblade around everywhere and everyone eats at that restaurant, Shenanigans!" I didn't want to ask what kind of movie or news could have possibly given them that idea of the US so I just laughed and said "Oh yeah..suure, that's EXACTLY right!" Crazy Australians.
Just this week, however, I ran into someone at the bookshop that didn't seem too impressed with my nationality. It was very strange; I was sitting in the shop and he asked me to sign for a package he was delivering. After he heard me speak, he asked "Are you Canadian or American?" I smiled and said "American" and he just looked at me, waited for a second, and walked out the door without another word!

Story #2: A Sprint to Remember (And my best workout since I've been in Aussie-Land)
Last Monday, some of the girls and I found out that a club in Perth has free bbq and a free drink voucher for all students on Mondays. Well, free food was enough to get me to go into Perth, especially because none of us have class on Tuesday! So we all got semi-dressed up and walked over to the train station (which is about a 10 minute walk). When we got there, another girl (Erin) and I realized that we had forgotten our passports, a necessary form of ID to get into any bar or club in Perth. The train was leaving in 7 MINUTES and all of the other girls were boarding...I had no time to think! I grabbed my keys and Erin's keys, handed my shoes to Erin, and RAN, barefoot, through Fremantle to go get our passports. Erin, followed behind me at a slower jog as I sprinted up the stairs, broke into both of ours rooms, got our passports, and sprinted back. As we turned the corner into the train station, the train was beeping and the sign read: "1 minute remaining" We JUMPED into the train car (for dramatic effect more than anything else) and sat down, sweating, from our run. We spent the majority of the train-ride trying to make sure we weren't too sweaty and tired to be out! It ended up being a very fun night : )

As promised, A Brief Aussie-Lingo-Lesson:
"How ya goin?": How are you?
Arvo: Afternoon
Capsicum: Pepper
"Takin the Piss": This one is VERY strange and took me by surprise the first time my coworker, Tash, said to me "Oh you're takin the piss"...apparently its just to have a joke at your expense...but it certainly sounds strange!
"Full Out": Widge: "Oh Cafe 55 was full out!" Samantha: "Full out of what?!" Widge: (laughs hysterically) Apparently it means to be very busy. Who knew? At least my American naivety is entertaining!

Well, that's all for now, I have to go to bed because I'm going into Perth tomorrow to set up my travels for my return-trip! Oh, and in case anyone was wondering, my ankle is doing much better : ) Miss all of you!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb