What I do best...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
August 22nd 2008
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Getting injured, of course!! Yep, that's right...it was the second day of footy practice and I got a pretty awful ankle sprain : ( Naturally, this sprain did NOT come when I was being tackled by a crazy mob (which happened a number of times, might I add) but instead while I was running...all by myself. Oh well, I'm icing it now and hoping for the best; I just started to get the hang of this footy thing! Which reminds me, I don't think I've actually mentioned that we've had our first practice or that I'm participating in a footy league (which is Australian Rules Football for anyone who doesn't know!) They've been doing a program here for the past four years called the "Yankeroos" in which American students come learn the CRAZY game of footy in hopes that they will continue to play when they return to the states. Footy is kind of like rugby, from what I hear. It's very chaotic and involves tackling whomever has the ball...which can be a lot of fun : ) Our girls team practices at the same time as the boys and they look like they are going to KILL each other every time they play , but I guess none of THEM got hurt so I shouldn't be talking...
Anyway, more has happened in the past week then just playing footy. I actually got to a pro AFL (Australian Football League) game with the rest of the American students over the weekend which was a lot of fun. Also, its getting much warmer so the fact that we have a beach only 30 seconds away is becoming much more convenient = ) Today I went there to read for about an hour (I have to read a 560 page book in one week for my Indigenous Literature class!) This weekend we even got brave enough to go in the ocean! It was very exciting... I really need to take some pictures because the coastline is sooo gorgeous. Also, I've been running much more religiously lately (although sadly that may be halted for a bit because of the whole injury thing...) and Eric and I even ran to the gym yesterday where I did some squats and abs and such (voluntarily working out...crazy, I know) I can't wait for it to get even warmer, there is SO much to see on this coast! Maybe I'll even get brave enough to try surfing!
I guess that's about it, I've still been working at the bookshop but its been very quiet lately which is nice. I've also been doing a LOT of schoolwork, especially reading, but my classes are playing out to be quite interesting and enjoyable, despite the 3 hour time blocks!
Well, hopefully I'll write next with a happy update on my ankle injury!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb