Rotto & Quokkas


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Rottnest Island
October 29th 2007
Published: November 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Quokka Quokka Quokka

Begging for food
During my time studying in Perth, I made it out to Rottnest Island twice and I couldn't pass up the oppurtunity again. It is called Rottnest Island because of the quokkas that live there. The first arrivals thought they were rats, named it Ratnest Island (Rottnest). Only a small part of the island is developed and no cars are allowed. Bikes are the primary form of transport. There are bike paths and beaches everywhere. A loop of the island is about 20km with 20-30 beaches along the way. A lot of the time, you can find yourself on a beach alone. Many reefs and tropical fish are just offshore. Day one I arrived early and started on the loop around the island. It took about 4 hours after making some stops at the beaches. A made a lengthy stop at Little Armstrong Bay which was the primary beach the study abroad students used 3 years ago. Over the weekend I met one of Pauls friends and his family. They were staying on the island as well so I made what I thought would be a quick stop by there place. They had beers cracked so I joined them for the early evening. They were off to a movie later that night so I joined them again, then one last time at their place for beers after the movie and the kids in bed. I'm becoming very used to living with little kids at this point which only makes me want to put them off farther. The next day I met them once again for some time lounging on the beach at Little Parakeet Bay. The whole day was basically lounging around before heading back to meet Paul at the dock for another failed attempt at touch rugby. The pictures will tell more about


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb