Final Week in Freo & Planes


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Fremantle
November 5th 2007
Published: November 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Downtown PerthDowntown PerthDowntown Perth

From kings park
I've spent close to 2.5 full weeks in Freo and another leg of my trip is about to begin. I'll be heading to SE Asia for the next month. I'll start in Thailand, then do a tour through Cambodia that drops me off in Vietnam. It is still up in the air right now on whether to head to Laos of stay in Vietnam...I'm welcome to suggestions.

I felt like I've had a much stronger cultural experience in this past couple weeks than I did during my entire time studying abroad. After returning from Rottnest I played touch rugby with Paul and his friends again. I didn't contribute much to the game, but at least I didn't take away like last time.

Over the weekend I spent Saturday walking about Freo with Paul and his family. I did most of my souvenir shopping and token boomerangs for people back home. That night I went to dinner with the family at one of Pauls rugby friends. After talking to everyone the dinner consisted of a family from Zambia, South Africa, England, Australia and me from the US. A very international crowd.

As my aunt calls it the "rich-white-man" sport was here in Perth this weekend. The Redbull Air Race competition took place on the Swan River in downtown. There is basically a big obstacle course set up on the river and little stunt planes race around. They hit speeds of 400 kph. I went down to watch the race along 300,000 WA residents. Some of the pictures are also from Kings park which is a huge botanical garden/park above the city.

I'm heading to SE Asia tomorrow for a month. Hopefully I'll be able to post some stuff while I'm there.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb