Gill Goes... Trekking The Bibbulmun Track End to End... Beraking Shelter


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
May 7th 2016
Published: December 21st 2016
Edit Blog Post

Mist Rising up the ValleyMist Rising up the ValleyMist Rising up the Valley

Sunrise never looked so good as when there was mist involved
Day 3

Helena Shelter to Beraking Shelter via Wallegh

18.3 km

Poor Meg, after a painful night we pack up early (although not the earliest- the elderly lady is already gone at 4:30!). Meg starts hobbling off at sunrise, insistent that I take more time and just catch up with her off track at the designated rendezvous point (Driver/Allen Rd). I catch her as she, Geoff and Dean are about to head off- they seem to be very well equipped - ambulance like even- without the siren and lights. They are slightly nervous that they are in a no entry area but I think they have a good case. Wave goodbye and head back onto the track which has now become very foggy. Find a perfect place for breakfast before hitting the up and down section the Bibb Track guidebook has succinctly outlined for me (this is actually my first day with the guidebook, I left it in my car back at Kalamunda and Meg delivered it back to me when we met at Mundaring). On a side note, the Bibb track Office sells an 8 part guidebook series as well as the corresponding maps. You can get away with one or the other IMO, personal choice, I prefer the books. Hard core, proficient outdoorsy trekker types seem fond of the maps. I had both but my maps rarely came out.

So, back to the track, it really became goat trail like with some steep inclines and declines and lots of rocks to get up, over and around. As the fog lifted the clouds came in and made for a nice generally overcast 10 km ++ walk to reach Wallegh Shelter. The actual distance to Wallegh from Helena is supposed to be 9.6km, I ended up walking right past the hut to the rocky outcrop about 400m beyond. Doubled back on a different track again to be confronted with a pair of very bright sneakers hanging on a fence post- I was curious about their story, did they fall out of someone's pack? Were they jettisoned as too much weight? Were they a serendipitous gift for a hiker? So many possibilities... Anyway, I did reach Wallegh in full glaring sunlight and oh my! what an amazing spot- incredible views out over the valley and the most scenic of toilets! Whilst in the loo admiring the view there was a sudden heavy down pour - perfect timing really as I planned on lunch at Wallegh. So, after a dash back to the shelter, I enjoyed my rehydrated hummus (OMG- winner, winner!) and Vita wheat crackers, 1 cow cheese triangle, 2 dutch cookies and 2 cups of tea sheltered from the rain. Energised I headed back out onto the track only to find myself back at the hut- really!! I have no idea how I messed it up.

Now this is where serendipity intervenes...

As I walked in circles back to camp, 2 women had arrived- a mum and her daughter. They proceeded to tell me how the mum had left her boots in the car when they got dropped off and she had been walking in light shoes that had fallen apart within a couple of days. There were tales of duct tape and her most recent acquisition- a pair of socks left at the previous camp site that she put over the destroyed shoes using the last of the duct tape over the top of that, but this combo, too was disintegrating. Remember those fence post sneakers? Yep- her size!!!

Got onto the right track for a pleasant afternoons walk to Beraking Shelter. Got to admit that I was ready to stop when I did- it was nice to put my feet up. Beraking is a lovely campsite, lots of steep valley views, lots of wandoo, jarrah and marri. So nice to be in the forest alone. Celebrate my aloneness by having a wash/change. Aloneness lasts for 20 mins before the arrival of an ultra long distance runner (passing through), Phil (45 mins later) and a family of 4 (another half an hour after that). Collected firewood as a group, ate (hungrier today) and sat around the fire, firstly, under an awesome sunset, and then a starry sky complete with 3 fast satellites and 1 shooting star. Chilly night. In the sleeping bag at 20:30, too tired to read even 1 page of my book. Phil announces at this point that he sometimes shouts in his sleep...



Impressions of Waalegh/Beraking Shelter Day

Fog and mist are a beautiful thing*, evidence of emus today- emu poo, lots of forest birds- scarlet robin, bronze wings, new holland honeyeaters, red tail black cockatoos, grey fantails (lots! or maybe just a few that followed me and kept popping out, some phone reception at Beraking

I really, really want to spend the night at Wallegh sometime

Body assessment- aching feet, no blisters

Total people seen for the day - Dean and Geoff medi-vaccing, 3 on track heading south, 2 at Wallegh, 1 runner, 5 in the hut overnight



* Mist and fog are often used interchangeably - and they are closely related - but there is a key difference which depends on how far you can see through them. Visibility is that difference... There you go.




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

The RescueThe Rescue
The Rescue

Geoff and Dean drove down for the medical evacuation of Meg loaded with painkillers, crutches and splints having studied the maps overnight for the very closest access point.
Breakfast TimeBreakfast Time
Breakfast Time

This was one of the most beautiful moments of the last few days. So serene, so quiet, so crisp. Hot oats in the bush- delicious
Signs of Semi CivilizationSigns of Semi Civilization
Signs of Semi Civilization

Always glad to get off the road and back into the bush
Almost at WaaleghAlmost at Waalegh
Almost at Waalegh

Clear skies from this angle
Waalegh ShelterWaalegh Shelter
Waalegh Shelter

Built by prisoners from the Wooroloo Prison Farm in 1994
How's This For A View?How's This For A View?
How's This For A View?

Wishing I could spend the night. Great view over the Helena Valley
Fascinating Little CreatureFascinating Little Creature
Fascinating Little Creature

Lots of them crawling around. Any ID?
Beraking ShelterBeraking Shelter
Beraking Shelter

I'm all set, this shelter was built in 2005 after the Pickering Brook bushfires
SunsetSunset
Sunset

5:30 pm


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb