Home


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
October 2nd 2006
Published: October 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

So after I posted my last entry in London, I went for a walk around the city on the monday and looked at some of the design shops in the Oxo Tower building and bought a reading light from one shop which is essentially a wire person reading where the light is it's head. After that I walked over to St Pauls Cathederal and climbed the 520 odd steps in narrow one way corridors to the top where there is a magnificant view of the city. And the monuments to the Duke of Wellington and Lord Nelson are quite impressive too. On the tuesday I packed my bags in the morning then went for a tour around the new globe theatre then sat along the themes for a bit before heading out to Heathrow for my flight to Singapore.
After 13 hours flying, I landed in Singapore on Wednesday the 27th. When I got to my hostel, which was in Little India, they had a deal that night to go on the Night Safari at student prices, so I bought a ticket, shared a cab with people I'd only just met and spent the evening wandering around looking at leopards and lions and elephants and owls and some other animals I can't remember. On Thursday I went out to Orchard Rd and wandered the shops but found that the prices really aren't that good and even the cheap electronics don't come with a warranty that covers Australia so I didn't bother with any. But mum and dad asked if I could buy something for them there so I did and then realised I'd need a new bag to be able to get it home so I spent $20 on a cheap and nasty bag with wheels which was just the right size. That night I went out to Raffels for a Singapore Sling at the Long Bar. As expected, it was nice but way overpriced so after that headed on to s cheap place to eat on the way to a bar for a few drinks.
On Friday I felt I was in limbo somewhat - when I'd landed in Singapore I inquired if I could change my flight from saturday evening to friday evening so that I could be home to see the Eagles play the AFL grand final and was told it was fully booked and I could go on a wait list. So I wandered around town a bit more and then in the afternoon called the airline to see if I was still on the wait list and what the chances were of getting on the plane. Basically, they didn't give me much hope of getting on the plane. But I went out to the airport anyway in the hope of getting a ticket at the last minute cause someone didn't turn up. And after waiting an hour and a half, I managed to get a ticket for the flight which I more or less had to run to make it through security and get on the plane. I landed in Perth at midnight Friday night and got home about 130am then got up and went to a mates place to watch the Eagles beat Sydney which I was quite happy about!
So after 2 months of travelling, I now have a new job that starts tomorrow (as today is a public holiday). It seems a bit strange to be home but I had sooo much fun, I can hardly describe it. I hope everyone has enjoyed reading my blog as I've travelled. If you check it later in the week I'll hopefully have a few more photo's uploaded for you all to see from the rolls I haven't developed yet.
For now, I'm not planning any more travels. Tho give me a few months and I might start thinking about my next big adventure - I've always wanted to go to everest base camp...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb