'My sins have gone, I've been set free' - Repentence and Forgiveness week part II


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
January 29th 2011
Published: January 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello again!

Ok so if you haven't read part I please read it at some point as what goes on during the week is not half as exciting as things which I'm learning in the lecture phase and the application parts. This is not because I have really boring and pathetic weeks, it's just I really am enjoying learning about God and it is just all so amazing!

So this week were were mainly in lectures because it was a hard-core topic so free time was pretty infrequent as we were in lectures during the day and then during the night and in most of the free times I had this week I spent having quiet time with God so that I could understand the topic better and learn more about His character.
So on Sunday I went to Metro Church (which I went to last week but missed the first 45minutes due to getting lost). It's pretty charasmatic and lively and I think is in a place which used to be a cinema as the room is black and the seats are the squishy seats you have to push down to sit on. It's kind of a funny church in a way, I've never really experienced anything like it. It has a few big screens even though the room isn't really all that big and they have lights like you would see in a concert. Very bizarre and funny at the same time. They also have a lot of people up on stage during worship, like I am talking easily 20 people. Definitely looks a little on the crowded and unnecessary side but whatever works for them. It's a nice church but I think I'm going to look at different churches as although the talks are pretty good i'm finding it hard to take it seriously as a church as I am so not used to the flashy lights and technology. It's all a bit too much.
On sunday night I went to Kings Park which overlooks the whole of Perth. It was so pretty looking at all the buildings lit up. We pretty much just sat down and did a very stereotypical and what I felt was a bit cringeworthy to begin with, one of the guys cracked open his guitar and we started singing worship songs. After a while it didn't seem so weird and it was quite nice just doing it in the open air but it definitely isn't something which is natural to me and would have been something which I would have laughed at if someone asked me to do it. Had my first experience of being bitten by an ant and it hurt...the feeling of a really bad injection/being stabbed by a needle really hard a few times. I did start getting worried that I may have been bitten by a poisonous spider but I am still alive so clearly that wasn't the case.

It was also Australian Day this week on Wednesday which was pretty cool. Basically australians take the whole day just to celebrate their country and have fun. We only took half the day off, dressed up in all our australia day gear and went down to the river which seperates north and south perth and we just chilled while people went to check out the activities like paintballing, mechanical bulls, concerts, pony rides etc. At night there was also a massive firework show which was apparently amazing but I clearly am not really into fireworks and didnt say wow once. I would have liked to see fireworks which made out the australian flag or a kangaroo bouncing across the sky but apparently fireworks aren't that advanced yet!
Don't really think england has anything which is similar to that. I mean we have St Georges day but what do we really do then? Most people don't even know when it is and i'm pretty sure it's based on a mythical tale. I guess since we've never had to claim independence from another country like Canada or USA or Australia we just don't get a day. Oh well!

So yer that is pretty much all I have to say, everything exciting was in the other blog so if you haven't already check that out!

Have a great week!

Much love and blessing,
Rachel

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb