A-Team Perth Wedding!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
November 2nd 2009
Published: November 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

What an amazing day yesterday! It was a sunny and cloudless day for a wedding, one every girl dreams of! Chris (Alyson's brother, who lives here in Austalia) and his wife Kirsty kindly picked us up at the hotel. On the way to Alastair's home, we stopped by Chris & Kirsty's home and had a local tour of the outskirts of Perth. Still haven't had any kangaroo sightings!

We arrived at Jeanette & Graham's (Alastair's parents) beautiful home. Alyson greeted us and told us the power was out!! A little panic but after a couple hours, the power miraculously restarted! As the girls were getting their hair done, Stephen, myself, Chris, and the rest of family started to get the compound ready for the big day. I immediately went in to wedding planner mode and used every resource I could to make my Aly's 3rd Wedding an unforgettable one. We had some challenges but in the end we made it happen!! Graham, Jeannete and the McLean boys did an amazing job getting the house prepped, planning the caterers, hanging lanterns, and making sure all the details needed were fulfilled. You would be amazed how much work is involved when you
Graham and Jeanette's HomeGraham and Jeanette's HomeGraham and Jeanette's Home

Site of the A-Team Wedding
plan your own wedding!!

After hanging out, Aly arrived with all the bridesmaids after getting their hair done. It was no George but in the end everyone looked so beautiful. Alyson looked stunning in her wedding gown! It was breathtaking! I cannot believe Stephen and I were actually here on her 3rd Wedding day!!! I know it made her feel so happy knowing we were here too. I am extremely flattered Alyson asked me to be her MAN OF HONOR and for entrusting me with this position!! Imagine me holding flowers for the bride and even trying to put her heels on, what a sight!!

The Wedding was so loving, fun and one of the greatest moments in my life. To be here in a country, I do not even know and to be welcomed and loved by the Mc Leans is an indescribable feeling. The entire McLean family made us feel at home and have been so generous with their hospitality. I am going to miss everyone here as we move forward on the rest of journey.

The Ceremony was very relaxed and led by their Celebrant. As we walked down the aisle full of rose petals, I had this feeling of peace and overjoy. The Australian ceremony was a bit different from the traditional ceremony. Myself and Cam (Alastair's best man) were the legal witnesses for Aly and Al. We had to sign a certificate during the ceremony. What an amazing honor!!

Following the Ceremony was the cocktail hour. The A-Team was introduced with the actual "A-Team Theme Song and narrative"...very funny! The hor dourves from CoCo's (Al's old restaurant) were phenomenal!! The seagull was out and I must have had a complete dinner of lamb chop! It was so so good!! The cocktail hour was full of pictures, fashion and drinking!

After many drinks and pictures, we proceeded to the reception under the marquee tent. Food was served buffet style and everyone continued on drinking and being merry!! The night was young and all the guests were drinking and celebrating Aussie Style.

At one point in the night, Chris & Kirsty sang a ballad which they wrote for Aly and Al. I presented my Man of Honor speech which surprisingly was loved by everyone. I didn't realize how much speeches meant to Australians and how much they loved it when it
StainglassStainglassStainglass

Loved this! This used to be on the front door!
comes from your heart. I had every guest come up to me to let me know how touching it was. Even Stephen felt like movie stars husband! LOL. Cam's best man was touching with only a slight poke at Alastair. At the end of the speeches, Alyson and Al shared their thank you's to everyone. At one point, Alastair said,"I'd like to thank Stephen and Nelson, the only two who came to all three of our weddings!!, Three weddings and only ONE gift!!!" That was hilarious!!!!!!

The rest of the night was like a rugby match, lots of drunks, singers and blurry memories!!! Again, this was an awesome wedding and I know I must have left out so many details!! This blog can not justify the enjoyment we all had yesterday! PLUS, I promised Alyson I would not post too much!!!

Enjoy the pics!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Cocktail HourCocktail Hour
Cocktail Hour

The best lamb chops ever!! And Huge!
The 3rd RingThe 3rd Ring
The 3rd Ring

Surprise!!!!


2nd November 2009

Wedding
Aly should be very pleased with your update. Very PG. Good job. I can't wait to hear the stories. Well your second and third gifts were you and Steve making it to Aussie! Of course I am sure the A Team knows that. ;-) Love the comment though!!!!Very cute!!!!~ Miss you! xoxoxo S

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb