Week 3


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
November 23rd 2008
Published: November 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow... been a while sorry guys been a lot going on in the past few of weeks and internet isn't cheap.

I'm finally somewhat settled after moving out of the first hostel and moving around for a bit due to hostels being completely booked. Hostel life is sweet. You get to meet heaps of cool people doing the same thing as you, hear their stories as well as make some of your own, its like being at summer camp 24/7 except with a bar and more freedom.

Some friends from the first hostel and I went on the torch light tour of the Fremantle Prison (one of the most haunted places in Australia), yes, we did have somewhat of a ghostly encounter while on the tour. One of my friends that I met in the hostel was filming the tour and she aimed her camera at one of the old watch stations that had had the most ghost sightings. The first time she did it no big deal, the second time she shot it and zoomed in her camera refused to focus and went extremely fuzzy until we were almost inside the main building. One of stories from the tour guide was even crazier though. A radio host refused to believe there was such things as ghosts or the super natural so the prison dared him to sleep in a cell for the night. About halfway through the night he ended up screaming for them to let him out, since then he has never set foot back in the prison and refuses to say what happened. It was absolutely amazing and definitely recommend it if you ever come to Perth.

Our last outing was up to Kings park which is a bit like Stanley park I guess you could say, but there are some amazing look outs over the city and river. It was a perfect day for it, sun shining and clear skies. Wish I had some pictures to show you guys but as I don't have a digital camera you will all have to wait till the others post their photos on Facebook so I can post them here :P

Along with making new friends I have also caught up with a lot of old friends from when I was here previously and seen some of my old teachers/coaches. It has kinda been a bit of a reuniting for all of us. a German girl who was also on exchange when I was here, is now back for a year as well to travel and a friend who moved east is back here to go to university, crazy timing. Went to John Curtin with one of my friends to say hi to some our teachers, nothing has really changed in 3 years. My old school coach has asked me to come back to the school in the new year to speak to the year 8 girls in the soccer program to speak about playing soccer in Canada... if anyone knows something interesting to say about it please let me know, I'm horrible at speeches.

I finally got a job currently working as a roadie (setting up stages and taking them down for concerts/shows/events) so far I have set up for Billy Joel and apparently there's heaps more gigs to come this summer, definantly looking forward to it. Still on the look out for more of a steady job for the rest of week though, as roadie work tends to be more night shifts.

As you can see keeping busy isn't too hard around here and I have also completed one task of sailing here and am now racing on a keelboat every Saturday! I'll try to get some pictures up ASAP and update more often.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb