Peace and Quiet


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Scarborough
May 3rd 2009
Published: May 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Living RoomLiving RoomLiving Room

The living room, at Cliff and Sue's house
DAY 177

We have been enjoying our stay in Perth at Cliff and Sue’s home, but all things have to come to and end eventually, I have enjoyed being here very much, but I can again feel myself becoming a slave to it, and we both have started to feel that we should be moving again. You just get in to a flow of putting the trailer up, taking it down, blah blah and the routine has being broken and I am also feeling that we just do not want to outstay our welcome.

Our intention today is to get going and break the bounds of Perth and up to the Pinnacles, heading North eventually towards Darwin and Perth to Darwin is over 4000 Kilometers away, so we need get a wiggle on.

We had explained to Sue that we would be getting off on Sunday which she understood, and was beetling about this morning when Sue again said that it would have been nice if Caroline were to come to dinner with her and her girlfriends today and suggested that perhaps we should leave tomorrow.

The truck was nearly ready to go, our stuff had been
Outside DiningOutside DiningOutside Dining

With the temperature so good, there is losts of occasion for outside living
packed but in Western Australia on a Sunday, suburb shops like supermarkets are closed, and maybe I just didn’t get the gumption to move today as again we had all had a very late night and I for one was certainly tired, so the plan was to stock up with food in the morning on our way out.

It gave me an opportunity to drive the girls out to their lunch appointment, so they could drink safely should they so desired, so at midday we loaded up then off to the (Bottle shop) off Licence if you are British and reading this, so they could get a bottle of wine or two for the hostess.

I was back by 1.00pm and was thoroughly looking forwards to a peaceful afternoon just mooching around, I had loaded a movie which was the day the Earth Stood Still with Keanu Reeves but it was not a patch on the 1951 Original with Michael Rennie.

With the film finished I got the chance to finish tidying the truck, refill the water containers, fill up our Esky (Drink Bowser) and just get everything back in its proper place.

The phone goes
Sitting roomSitting roomSitting room

The 2nd sitting room
at 17.05, The person on the other end of the phone is asking if Sue is there and I try to explain that she is out for lunch with her girlfriends today, the lady starts to quiz me why I am in their house, I am explaining whilst this unknown person is interrogating me. The language gets worse, Then the penny drops it is Sue, just winding me up, they are ready to be collected so I lock the house and jump in the truck on my way over to Mindari to pick them up.

When I get there I knock on the door, and get invited in, just like when I see Caroline’s Girl friends, a lone fella is easy prey. I have a quick cup of tea with the girls and then we head off.
The girls have enjoyed being together and indulging in gossip and all the ladies enjoy best, plus the copious bottle of wine I’m sure. (I thoroughly enjoyed my afternoon, despite all the girls talking midwife stuff it was very interesting and the politics are the same no matter where you work or what you do. They made me feel very welcome but
The Indian OceanThe Indian OceanThe Indian Ocean

This is the view 1 minute down the road from Cliff and Sue's House
it did make me realise how much I miss this camaraderie with my friends and colleagues.

Tomorrow is Sues first day back after a 10 week break, she is not looking forward to it, we all need to go to bed early tonight as we have been late every night, and suffer in the day, so tonight is an early film then bed.

Cliff phones from the Gas rig somewhere in the Indian Ocean West of Karratha and we thank him for putting us up, or more like putting up with us.

I hate saying good by to people I like as I become emotionally attached to people and places, the last time I felt like this was when we left Nangus (the sheep farm), but again we just have to go, there is more of Australia to explore.

We truly appreciate the kindness and generosity Cliff and Sue have shown us, and all the fun and laughs we have had with them, so I won’t be goodbye, but Adieu for a short while.

So the film finishes by 20.50, Sue has already gone to bed, so its time we hit the sack, we are tired, but looking forward to our new journey tomorrow, our adventure continues as we head North.

So until tomorrow friends we shall retire.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.529s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 26; qc: 195; dbt: 0.3327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb