Travellers Life Again


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Joondalup
November 22nd 2010
Published: November 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, this is it. For anyone who hasn't been up to date on where we are or where we've been, we've travelled from Cairns to Perth (I've just changed Blog sites because this one is better and will upload all our previous travels soon, more for my benefit than anyone elses) last year and have just spent the last twelve months in Perth.

Perth has been great, bit flat, dry and hot for my taste and there is no surf, it tends to get a bit wind blown from time to time as well. On the plus side however we've made the best friends here that you could ever imagine, in fact they're such good friends we almost can't leave. We've decided we can always come back if we want. I won't go into great detail here about Perth, a year is a long time and the year has given us too much to try and cram in here, suffice to say we were given a farewell party last Saturday and I had tears in my eyes in public, that doesn't happen. I also drank to much and laughed longer and more frequently than I have in years.

Anyway, I won't dwell on that, this is more a hello and a notice to anyone who may care or be interested that we'll be back on the road again on Monday morning and heading for the South West coast. I'm a bit chuffed today because I just finished building a false bottom in the trailer and a shelf with drawer for the car, the amount of space it has created is awesome - if they gave prizes for this sort of stuff I'd get one. I did it all for free too, but enough blowing my trumpet now - we're excited to hit the road again and I enjoy documenting the trip, hope it helps our friends and family see that we're safe and having fun and provides some entertainment to. I'll try it keep it a bit more regular than last time, so you'll hear from me soon, bye for now.

P.S A funny thing about writing a blog is figuring out how to write it. Essentially it's written as something my family and I can look back on in years to come and remember the trip, then it's a way of letting all our friends and family know where we are and what we've been up to. Then also I'm conscious of the fact that total strangers can read this and for some reason I'd like them to be entertained also. Of course one other thing I'm thinking is that this is a way to help launch my career (new career) in professional photography. With all this in mind you'll have to excuse me if my writing style changes from letter, to book, to documentry to advertisement and who knows what else, sorry, that was a big P.S

Advertisement



28th November 2010

Nige, It has been awhile! Sounds like things are going great for the Elliot's. Congrats to you and Belinda on the expected new addition! Sensational news about the photography career. I still remember sitting in the office at HMAS discussing your desire to try a new career....one that you actually wanted to do!! My email address is chris.fogg@hlg.ae - I dont tend to get on blogs, facebook etc much (come to think of it I don't have a facebook site) but I do answer emails on a daily basis. Would be great to catch up mate.....send a email if you get a chance. All te best to you all......safe travelling! Chris and Kristie

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb