Day 5 - Boys Beat PB by Climbing 75m Up a Tree


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Pemberton
April 13th 2015
Published: April 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Finally, on our last day the weather has eased, it is still drizzling though but I take kids back to the Dave Evans Bicentennial Tree again and they go all the way up this time despite the rain. This tree was never used as a look out, but was pegged for tourists in Australia's bicenntenial year in 1988. It is also the only climbable tree that rewards non height fearing visitors with a 360-degree view of old growth Karri forest.

We weren't that far from Yeagarup Dunes which is something else on my bucket list and for once, it looked like the rain might hold off all afternoon and the sun is peeping out every now and again and I might get some good pictures there. The track to the Yeagarup Lake is suitable for 2WD. However, the 1.5km trip into the dunes is 4WD. My car is a 4WD SUV but it was advised that I let the pressure down to a certain level before embarking on the track. I have no idea what I am doing so I just decided I would walk in seeing at it wasn't raining. As it turned out, the sand track was quite compacted due to the rain and well used wheel ruts so I could've have made it in on the tracks without reducing the tyre pressure and parked up before the dunes actually rise up. But it was still nice to walk there and across the sweeping dunes which were quite impressive but not as steep as I was expecting. We ended up spending quite a bit of time there and didn't get back into town until about 2pm.

We eat a quick lunch at the bakery again and then head to the Lavender and Berry Farm for a hot chocolate and the free wifi of course. This is the first time I have had any contact with the outside world so after a quick post on FB to let everyone know we are surviving the 'camping' trip, it seemed like I'd been gone for weeks. After we left there, I take the boys for a drive to see Big Brook Dam and then take the scenic route back via Channeybearup Road because it's my favourite. Back at the caravan park, I want to take the boys on a walking trail called Rainbow Trail which accessible from the back of the park. There is only an hour of day light left so we walk as far as we can before having to turn back. It follows the Lefroy Brook and also takes in part of the Bibbulmun Track which is one of the world’s great long distance walk trails, meandering 1000km from Kalamunda in the Perth Hills, to Albany on the south coast, winding through the heart of the scenic South West of Western Australia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb