Karijini National Park and Broome


Advertisement
Published: April 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's been a while since I've written so I must have been having fun!

I put a notice up in the hostel at Exmouth and picked up 2 German girls Lena and Sally who were looking to go to Karijini National Park and then on to Broome. It was quite hard getting to know them on the 6 hour journey in the car but the universal language of music always works, so on went the iPod and I soon learnt they don't like dance music! Oh well that only rules out 70% of my music... but it turns out that Lena is also a closet Westlife fan so poor Sally has had to deal with me and Lena (who both know ALL the words) singing! That's enough to send anyone crazy.

We camped at Tom Price and booked on to a tour of the Nat park. As you can see from the photos is was breath taking. Amazing gorges and swimming in some of the most beautiful pools..Paradise. The best bit was our tour guide Jeff. The weirdest man I have ever met. Within 15 mins of picking us up he had started crying.....yeah you heard CRYING!! He then cried no less than 7 times throughout the day. Anything would set him off, the way the sunlight hit the mountains, the death of someone he didn't know in the gorges or just how amazing us young travellers are. We were a little worried that he was going to take us into the park and kidnap us!! he would suddenly start reciting poetry at random points too. He seemed to have lots of random stories that had no relation to the park or it's history. Then as the day went on you could feel it building to a point when he started telling us a bout a great book that he reads from everyday...then he hit us with it...Joshua 14: 10: 3 or something like that....he started preaching to us just at the point where I tried to see if I could fit my whole fist in my mouth. But all in all he actually grew on us and by the end of the day we were sad to leave him. I highly recommend that if anyone goes to Tom Price please please please go on Jeff's tour. It's priceless.

We left Tom Price with a 10 hour journey ahead of us (me doing all the driving) to Broom. really glad that we floored it and got to Broome because all the people we had met individually up the west coast were here in the same hostel. So down to cable beach it was to have a party and the best bit is that you are allowed fires on the beach so for that last 3 nights that's where we've been. Pool by day as the sea has box jellyfish and crocs so we can't swim. we all put some money in and filled an eski with 4 boxes of wine (Goon), 2 bottles of vodka and some fruit juice....mmm goon punch!
Last night sally and I went to the open air cinema which was great until the bloody mozzies set about eating us alive!! Tomorrow I am heading to Darwin and the whole group from Broome are all gonna be there over the next few days so looks like we'll be tearing up darwin too!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



28th April 2008

Jeff
How much would I have loved Jeff....he is classic story telling material, I am now packing my bags to head over and see him!! xx

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb