Exmouth and Yardie Creek


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Exmouth
April 6th 2008
Published: April 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Been in Exmouth a few day's now. The town isn't really that exciting but the Cape Range National Park is 60k away and it's so beautiful. There is so much snorkeling here it's great.

Each day I get a bit braver and a bit more adventurous so I left Maria and Lewis and went camping in the bush in my own. In the heart of the national park there is a massive gorge carved out by Yardie Creek and it's cool to camper there. So off I trekked stopping to do some snorkeling on the way. The camp site is only 8 bays and a toilet just off the beach and there were 2 other camper vans so I felt safe enough. It was amazing, you really are in the middle of nowhere. 50ft from my van over the dunes was the sea and i sat and watch the sun go down with a beer and no one around except one of the campers fishing for his tea.

The bugs are a nightmare and I slept hugging a can of insect killer, they're all twice the size of anything in the UK and they can all jump as well as fly! But the night before when I slept in a hostel in town I woke to find a tarantula under my bed (well i think it was tarantula) so no where is safe. The Hostel is ok and it's attached to a nice resort so the bar area is lovely. Friday night is the night club...got smashed on goon for $3 a glass. The English girls I was with dared me to jump in the pool (those of you that know me are aware this is a hobby of mine) so i did and the bouncers kicked me out. Thank god I decided to do it at 1.20am as it closed at 1.30am!!

I bought a camera that came with an underwater case. Tried it out yesterday and the results are quite good, not so sure about my ability to photograph fish though...it's a case of point press and hope for the best. There's so much marine life that I would be really unlucky not to get something in the frame. The visibility wasn't great but I will keep practising.


The next part of the journey is a long one to Port Headland then Broome so I am advertising at the hostel to give a lift to someone but they have to be funny and interesting otherwise I may as well just listen to my iPod.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



6th April 2008

It's not fair, i want to be out there with you in the lovely sunshine, not here in the cold snow!! Yes it's snowing and it's april! Glad to see you're enjoying yourself, everything looks amazing, see you in a couple months, big hugs and kisses from me and Ethan Nikki xxxx

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb