WA


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Exmouth
August 13th 2010
Published: August 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

greyhoundgreyhoundgreyhound

most expensive bus on the planet..
G'day mateys!

Australia - what a hilarious place, the land of roos, bathers, white pointers, dunnies, robbies, kockys, perenties, thongs, creeks, crocs, sheilas, joeys, humpies and bevvies...

After a great few days in Nelspruit, SA with another visit to the Kruger as well as my first micro light flight at sunset which was fantastic - I got myself to Johannesburg and caught my flight to Perth.
Pretty surprised at the lack of ones own entertainment system..was really looking forward to watching movies! Haven't been on a plane in 9,5 months - thats the longest I haven't been on a plane for the last 10 years!
Anyhow I managed to get by as it was a night flight and it was only 8 hrs compared to the 24 from Europe..

I arrived in Perth and was not very impressed as it was cold and a bit rainy and my backpackers was full of messy people. There was not a great deal to do as it is just a city and I couldn't get around much and it was ridiculously expensive. King's Park was nice and there was a beautiful botanical garden there. I met up with my friend Jordan's
Turquoise BayTurquoise BayTurquoise Bay

Pretty spectacular
brother and that was nice. Even went to his birthday party.

Then I left to go on the Greyhound for 18 hrs and 1270 km, to get me to Exmouth.
The climate up there was much warmer and nice and relaxed. Even more expensive...200 AUD for a days diving, 380AUD to see the whale sharks, 6 AUD for a kilo of apples!
I did 2 days of diving and was very disappointed on the first day but liked the second day - saw my first wobbegong shark and olive sea snake (huuuuuge!). There were tons of humpback whales around and some of them came really close to the boat and there were some dolphins as well!
Apart from that I took it easy and ate far too much.. I met some aussie guys that took me with them for a day in the national park and that was great. We snorkeled at Turquoise beach, awesome water and more fish than the dive sites. I saw a giant trevally in 1,5 meter water! Also we went on a boat cruise up the Yardie creek and saw some rock wallabies and lots of cool birds. So it is pretty nice only I was a bit moody and used to African prices.(well it still is ridiculously expensive..mor ethan London in the tourist areas and that is a bit of as joke, right??)

So I realised I will have to come back here one day with more money and a drivers license...




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

AwesomeAwesome
Awesome

thread-fin something, need to look it up, clearly up there with favourite fish!
Oyster stacksOyster stacks
Oyster stacks

Cape range marine park, exmouth


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 20; qc: 83; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb