Queensland


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
August 19th 2010
Published: August 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hiya, how ya goin!
Then I flew to Cairns. The weather was perfect, not too warm but really warm! Sandflies kinda suck but otherwise very nice. The town is very touristy but laid back and it has the most gorgeous setting. I clearly haven't done my research..had no idea Cairns was surrounded by rainforest and hills! Beautiful!
That you cant swim in the sea due to all the crocs really does suck, instead you have to swim in the 'lagoon' - a big swimming pool in the town centre...not really the same.
I was good and went running down by the water front quite a bit and got a fright every time I heard a noise...then the guy at the backpackers called Buddha (?) told me they arent actually around at the moment, this time of year..
Nice backpackers for a change, nice atmosphere and not too loud, the aging Frida was happy!

Cairns has ridiculously good ice cream, it was a good thing I started running!

I did a two day trip to Cape Tribulation and the Daintree river. Really lovely trip but it rained. This made the river trip really misty and very exotic but the crocs dont like the rain...but we saw two - one tiny and one HUGE!
The sanctuary was cool but I don't really agree with hand feeding the kangaroos and cuddling the Koala and all that nonsense.. It was awesome to see a Cassowary though! We also stopped at a spectacular lookout point but as it was grey and cloudy there was not much of a view. Mossman gorge was also good and the way in general was very scenic.

Now I am in a dorm in the rainforest in Cape Tribulation and it is VERY humid. At least you can swim here as the crocs are not around this time of year and neither are the box jellies!
Will try some trekking tomorrow before I head back to Perth and pack and get ready for Papua New Guinea!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Keep fingers crossed for diving with my ears, they are being troublesome and I must be able to equalize..I mean, after all its PNG!!!! laters x


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

FrogmouthFrogmouth
Frogmouth

this bird kicks ass
CockaburraCockaburra
Cockaburra

no idea on the spelling
rainy daintree riverrainy daintree river
rainy daintree river

but still 2 crocs
grey billed herongrey billed heron
grey billed heron

very rare apparently


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb