One week down


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Derby
May 8th 2011
Published: May 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I could get used to this 2 day working week business! Kids came back to school on Thursday - not that I could really call it a class. I had 12 students rock up for Thursday and only 10 showed their face on Friday. It meant things were pretty relaxed for my first week back but I do hope attendance will return to normal on Monday.

Although I felt a bit flat after my return to Derby, I was back into the swing of Derby life come the weekend. I had already been out for dinner twice by the end of the week and on Friday I actually turned down a night of partying as I was just too tired to muster the energy.

On Saturday I did all the regular bits and pieces and got stuck into my planning for school. That made me feel like I deserved another night out so I joined up with some doctors for dinner at The Catch which overlooks the Derby jetty. I had some delicious fish and chips, a few glasses of wine and my Saturday night was complete.
Sunday started early, as I got up at 5.30am to see off the Gibb River Cycle Challengers which is an annual event that sees cyclists ride the 770km journey along the Gibb from Derby to Kununarra. Unfortunately this year they will be riding along the highway as the Gibb has not reopened after all the flooding it copped last term. After an early morning dog walk I ended up back at a mate's house for pancakes and had Skyped mum for Mother's Day all by 9am.

The remainder of the weekend was spent relaxing and spending time with Vegemite- who has made the transition to Derby life look easy.
I hope this week will go just as quickly and be equally as social as last.
I hope you are all well.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 72; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb