24th July 2012 (Cape Range National Park)


Advertisement
Published: July 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

DAYS ON THE ROAD = 24


Tuesday 24th July 2012

Oh my goodness, well that's a weak way of explaining what I'm about to say. I'm shattered, couldn't fall asleep then when I did the wind kicked up over the range and bang hit the van with force. hmmm I wonder whether this is a nightly event. Also ended up closing the bed canvas as the wind was wiping my hair all over the place, which also kept we awake. Oh and not forgetting the crunching of branches just outside our bed. No point complaining, I'm sure the next night's sleep will be better after the activities we have planned today. Charles goes off for a run, good on you darling.

We head off to look and walk through Yardie Creek Gorge which is only a short drive away from our campground.

The girls are then given a lesson on safety whilst walking along gorges, in nature and what not to do. Last year when we went to Kalbarri my eldest daughter lost her footing on some loose rocks in the gorge and nearly went over the edge, scary for all round.

So we set the rules, daddy goes first, then my eldest, followed by the youngest then myself heading up the rear. We also decide that if Charles needs us to stop he holds his hand up and we all halt or if I need everyone to stop I just shout out "Stop". We also get the girls to read the signs so that they can learn along the way and that it's not just a walk we were going on.

The gorge was really beautiful and we had to climb up and down some rock faces which were a challenge for the littlies but they done extremely well and we were very proud of them. We were also lucky that we had all invested in some really good walking shoes all round which helped up with gripping onto the rock. It's amazing how many people go on these walks with thongs and dress shoes on. Asking for trouble if you ask me. This walk was classified at Class 4 (where Class 6 would be the hardest). We saw some black footed rock wallabies up in the caves on the gorge and an osprey circling above head. It took us a couple of hours to complete and were ready to go back to the Osprey Campground for a well-deserved swim.

Another successful day in water and gas conservation. I've decided that every morning I will boil a full kettle of water that will make us our coffee supply (thermos) for the day and wash the morning dishes. Still on the first tank of water and battery is maintaining charge with 3/4 charge at the end of the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



7th August 2012

WOW!
Don't fall in Alicia!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb