Somewhere in the vast nothingness of space.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
March 18th 2017
Published: March 18th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Quite a bit has happened in the last couple of days and I have not been able to blog.
I'm gonna try and remember and tell you as much as I can ;D, So many experiences in such little time it's quite amazing really. Warning this one may be a bit longer than the others as i'm trying to cram multiple days in one blog as I haven't been able to blog in a couple of days.

I've been all over the place the last couple of days but right now i'm in Lakes Entrance.
I'll start where I left off.

After having a great evening with Nino I woke up the next morning quite early to a very hard wind.
As I had told Nino the night before I would show him how I make an egg on my amazing gas stove compared to his little stove I attempted that... Yea that also failed, the wind was way to hard and kept blowing out my stove and I had nothing to protect it with, I attempted to use a towel but somehow the wind still got to the flame and blew it out.

After I decided to give up on my egg I ate 2 Apples, said bye to Nino and headed on my way along the great ocean road.
After driving away from Apollo Bay the Great Ocean Road heads into a jungle/woods like area for about 50/150 Kilometres.
While driving through park named Otway National Park I came through beautiful roads overhung by trees. There were quite a few places where people stood still looking at trees so at some point I decided to stop by them and see what they were looking at.

More Koalas!! There were koalas hidden everywhere in the trees just chilling eating the leaves. I managed to get some better pictures of them while they sat there. One looked straight at me while taking the picture so i'm quite proud of that picture. I must say before I left my sister offered me to bring her camera, man at some points I do wish I brought it I couldn't just for the fear of braking it. I hate borrowing stuff.

I continued on the road and noticed some signs to see the Otway Lighthouse which of course sounded awesome, I headed up the road and followed it till the end where a little park was. There was an entrance fee so I decided not to go in but by the looks of it on the outside it was some path up to the lighthouse with animal sightings by it.
Like I said I decided against it as I hate a busy schedule for that day so I drove away. I continued on the road.

Not to much further I came back next to the ocean with the amazing cliff views and stopped a couple of times to make pictures.
I started seeing Prince Town on the signs which meant I was getting close to the 12 Apostles an iconic sight from the great ocean road. As I started getting closer more and more signs to the 12 apostles showed up until I finally reached the 12 apostles information centre where there is a huge parking area so I decided to park there and have a look around.

I walked through the information centre and after continued towards the 12 apostles. 2 words, "Holy Sh#t". It's literally just like the pictures but way bigger. It's beautiful I really loved seeing them. Didn't quite count 12 but there was a sign saying they can collapse at any time so don't be upset if you can't count all 12. New ones form as the old ones collapse. Obviously this all takes years and years as its been in the making for a couple of thousand years.

By the 12 Apostles there was a little 5 KM walk to the Gibson steps another iconic site. I walked the 5 there made some pictures from the top and decided to go down them... Bad idea, I had no Idea how heavy it would be to climb up them again. I did take some nice pictures from the beach but man those steps back up, it must be like 30 metres practically straight up in 30 degrees Celsius after just walking 5 km's haha. Once I got back to the top quite thirsty but of course I hadn't brought anything to drink I quickly walked the 5 km's back to the car (semi quick as it was hot and i was thirsty ahha). Grabbed a drink and continued on the road towards more iconic sights like the grotto and London Bridge.

Of course I took plenty of pictures and will try to upload as much as possible for you to see without going over my 500 MB data cap this Wifi Network has.

After going to the iconic sights I drove through Port Campbell where I stopped for a break, I found a nice little beach here where I decided to go for a swim. I must say I now completely understand how people can get dragged into the ocean, the current going back into the sea I was just standing there and it still almost dragged me with it. I went for a short swim fighting the ocean not getting pulled in it and making sure my bag and towel weren't getting stolen before I got out the sea and tried off. I saw a fish and chip place and to be fair as I had been by the sea all day it just felt like a must.

I walked inside and the woman was very kind and said I could have prawns and chips for 8 Dollars instead of 15 as I was all by myself. She brought my food and holy moly it was so much haha. It was amazing though I enjoyed that a lot. I got so much chips I took some with me into the car and headed back on the road towards Warrnambool where I would stop my Great Ocean Road trip as I understood from locals afterwards it gets a bit meh mainly goes inland and isn't as beautiful anymore. Once I arrived at Warrnambool I headed over to a camping where I could stay for the night.
At this park they had a swimming pool so I decided to go for another swim as it was quite hot and driving all day made me quite sweaty, I swam in the pool for a little bit, caught up with everyone and headed to bed.

When I woke up the next morning I felt a bit meh, little lonely and did not feel like doing anything that day so I decided to take a resting day. I headed to the reception and asked if it was okay to stay for another night and it was, the women behind the counter was friendly and showed me some things in the area I could do.

About a 15 minute drive away was a Volcano that was no longer active in a park with a bunch of wild life.
She changed my mind to do something that day so after eating breakfast and having a cup of tea I headed towards the volcano. There was a nice little centre there with a lot of information about the park I was in (Tower Hill) and also had some items from aboriginals. Looked around the centre and noticed it had little hikes you could do with possibilities of seeing Koalas, Kangaroos, Emu's and a bunch of other animals.

I decided to do the longest and toughest hike to give myself a challenge and it was only 4 km's so how hard could it be :P
Grabbed a drink and headed onto the path, about 5 minutes in I saw emu's and took pictures. Funny creates they are and once again a moment I wish I had a better camera. an iPhone camera is great but zooming in wise it's terrible.

I didn't see any other animals but the emu's 😞 but I did see the volcano while standing on top of it looking into it which was a beautiful sight. I heard a lot of birds and the hike was good but man it was more tough than I expected. I'm used to a little walking with all the walking i've done the last couple of days but man this was up and down up and down up and down, at least I had a lot of shade from the trees and my water bottle with me.
I completed my hike and saw some amazing views and the volcano there is beautiful.

I headed back to the camping, while on my way back I stopped at a Woolworths where I got myself some steak for the evening. Once back at the park I decided to sit in the kitchen while charging my laptop and relaxing.
An older man showed up to cook his kangaroo burgers and we got talking. He was from Melbourne and was staying on this camping area for about a week with his wife and little dog. He gave me loads of good advice for on the road like where to get petrol and which routes to take up the east coast, and some must see things. His wife later came a long to help him cook. We had a little chat before they headed back towards their camper to eat. I sat there a little longer before grabbing my steak and put it on the BBQ. The older man came back and we talked a little more while I was making my steaks.

After I had eaten and was alone again in my camper I watched some series on my laptop before heading to bed. The next morning I woke up early again and continued on my path back again. Today I would start heading back towards Melbourne again so I can start going up the East Coast of Australia.

I had missed the Erskine Falls on the way down so I decided I still needed to see them as multiple people had told me that they are beautiful. With some advice from the older guy I met the day before I headed towards Erskine falls this time just using motorways instead of the great ocean road to save time and petrol and of course i've been on it before.

I drove to the Erskine Falls which was only a 2 hour drive and parked at the falls. They were a nice site, I grabbed my go pro and walked over the rocks by the falls before headed back to my camper van. From here I drove a long way. I think I drove for like 7 hours total that day. From the Erskine falls I drove all the way to Phillip Island. I drove straight the middle of Melbourne which itself took like 2 hours as I was stuck in traffic. I will say one thing though: automatic cars are the best for traffic, only have to life the brake every time you can go forward like 5 metres and to be quite frankly.. Why is not everyone driving an automatic??? It's so easy.

Once I arrived about 15 minutes before Phillip island I pulled into a petrol station / resting area where I saw on my camper mate app you can stay the night for free. I had a quick bite to eat and as I was not in a park I had no Wi-Fi. I enabled mobile data just to let everyone know I was okay but was quite limited to internet access so I watched a film on my laptop before going to sleep.

I'll pick up from here in my next blog! thank you for reading.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



19th March 2017

nice!
Really enjoying reading about your adventures! :D take a koala back for me :D

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb