218 Days till the eagle leaves


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
April 23rd 2014
Published: April 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

As a world challenge student, we learn a lot about how to survive long waits, especially when online it tells us how long till we fly. At the present moment, it is only 218 days, which is 31 weeks, in other words 7 months. In hindsight, it really isn't that long. This time last year we were told about this trip, then it was 436 days! Yes, its been a long wait. As a ripe old traveller, you get this ach in the pit of our stomachs when we haven't flown for a while, and this trip will get rid of the pain.

So far we have been told nothing. Just that we are going to Cambodia, and all around. Thats it. Nothing. But yet the butterflies in my stomach are going ape shit. I am going with friends, foes, and people who I have never met, 11 people all up. This trip will make me new friends and hopefully the 'foes' will be on my side.

The first task we have been give in to pay for the trip, which comes to $6000 all up, (really not that much when you think about it) it pays for transport, hotels, food and everything under the sun. So far I have got a job and have paid for it all, which makes me happy. A lot of people have decide to get the money else were, some by sausage sizzles, some by chocolate drives and others by crying and hoping. All in all most of us are on the way up.

Our next task was to start to get equipment, this for me has been the real challenge! The boots were no problem as I had had them before, but the bag! Don't even get me talking about the bag! I never knew how hard looking for a pack could be until I need one. The hardest part is trying to find one that fits, especially around the top bit of my body. They come in so many shapes, sizes, fits and colours. After looking in around 20 stores I have finally found one! Its a gem, its blue (Yeeeeep) fits just under my neck and fits really well around my hips, which has a I hear it is a must, so thank god for that!

With all of this new equipment I had to test it all out. I put 10kg in my pack, put on my oh so very comfy socks and hiking shoes and went up 'The thousand steps'. Which is, as you have guessed, is a thousand steps up in the hills of Victoria, Australia. This walk is great. It is hilly and is in a kind of rain forest like environment, this is really cool, it feels sometimes like your not even walking. I found the boots hurt the first time but after I had worn them in they were fantastic! The bag was the same, but comfy right for the gettgo.

Sometime this week I'm going out to get walking polls and a water bladder, ill see if they change how I walk... Most likely not.

But anyway, till then.

xM

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb