Wahgunyah


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
July 8th 2003
Published: July 8th 2003
Edit Blog Post

11 September 2002
For most of August I didn’t take any photographs in Kindergartens or Daycare Centres, instead I was working for another photographer. He had commissioned me to get group photos of school bands, after they played on stage at Monash University. It was a welcome break from the stress of getting the required number of photos of children in a limited time span. Instead I watched the school orchestras play for about thirty minutes. For about fifteen minutes an adjudicators would get up on stage with the children and help improve their performance. At the end of that it was my turn. From the balcony I would instruct the students to arrange their chairs so everybody could be seen. With all eyes looking up to my position, two shots were taken. I would thank the orchestra before they left the stage. That was about all I had to do until the whole process was repeated. I did a lot of sitting around. Since returning to Kindergartens and Daycare Centres I have mainly worked in Melbourne. Often to avoid the peak hour traffic I get up early and leave at 6.30am. I miss the traffic but arrive at the centre usually an hour before I need to start work. I’ve just got back from the Cowra RSL where I shared the Bistro with the elderly citizens of this country town. The trip here took three and half-hours and the room in this Best Western Motel is comfortable.

12 September 2002
This morning’s session was in Wahgunyah. I arrived by way of the wooden bridge that spans the River Murray, which is the natural border between New South Wales and Victoria. I had been here last year but for the life of me could not remember the layout of the centre. Once inside, the rooms all became familiar. Forty-five children went before the camera this morning and thirteen exposed rolls of film indicated it was a busy session. For my evening meal I signed in as a visitor at the RSL.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb