Northwest Victoria


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
May 18th 2003
Published: May 18th 2003
Edit Blog Post

5 MAY 2002
It was close to midnight when I was driving home from a debutante ball where I had been working with a couple of other photographers when it occurred to me that my life is far from boring. Photography has given me some sort of uncertainty; I very rarely do the same thing day after day. Granted having children between the ages of one to four in front of the camera most days of the week, could be looked upon as the same thing. Working in so many different centres, I feel as if I'm starting a new job three or four times a week. Dealing with the personalities of children keeps me focused and the staff of these centres can either make a morning session a pleasure of very hard. Other commissioned work has me relating to young adults at debutant balls and weddings are always a challenge but rewarding when the couple get in the swing of the day.
My bag is now permanently packed and I'm always ready to leave. It was a three-hour drive to Mooroopna, a small town just west of Shepparton. I was still tired from the debutant ball last night and this drive was not easy. Once in the motel I could not settle and recovered from the drive very quickly. Decided to find a local swamp I had read about. I hoped to photograph some bird life. No luck! Missed a chance to capture on film Butcher Birds diving into the water, couldn't get close enough.

7 MAY 2002
Yesterday I did the first of two days in Mooroopna it was a good centre to work in. When I was finished I drove to Echuca, arriving around 2pm. I booked into the Settlement Motor Inn, been happy with the rooms before. A very busy day and afternoon sessions, with time to go back to my room for lunch.

8 MAY 2002
Today I was working in a school for special needs children. Very interesting centre, the children were so easy to get to know and had fun getting their photos taken. The director wanted a big group shot first which was quite a challenge. I was only in town for a couple of days and when finished the return journey to Mooroopna commenced. Forty-five minutes later I booked into the same motel as Sunday and was greeted by the owner. "Good-day, Colin" country people are so friendly. She gave me the key to room seven, the same room I was in before.
For my evening meal I went to the bistro next door. While I sat eating my meal, a family came in. The children were dressed in their pajarmas ready for bed. There was a playpen at the back of the dance floor and before long toys was starting to spread out. In fact I had to step over building blocks when I was leaving. This relaxed atmosphere is another reason why I love doing country jobs.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 11; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb