Last day in Paris


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
August 29th 2019
Published: August 29th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today started slowly with jet lag still waking me around 3am. Dozed on and off until 8am but it was hot and time to begin the day. I had a few organisational matters first so brekky was a Kellogg’s gluten free breakfast biscuit. 15g protein to start the day. Really miss the tea and coffee making in rooms that European hotels lack.

Headed off to Le Republique districtrict not too far from the hotel- about a 20 min walk. On the way found a great little supermarket where I stocked up with fruit and mini cheeses. Sadly as a coeliac, I walk past the baguette isle. You can get gluten free bread ? but it’s the same as home and not the best if not toasted. Also don’t want to be buying a full loaf of bread for one day. Some fruit and cheese it is. Le République is a vibrant area with a lot of diversity. It has a large monument where The candlelit vigil was held after terror attacks last year. East Paris gives you a sense of how most Parisiennes live away from the glitz and wealth of central Paris.

Along the way, I came across a beautiful small garden and playground dedicated to children with a connection to Auschwitz. My 6 years of school French long ago could only interpret that much from the signage. But it was a haven and so many mums and toddlers there.

From there jumped on the on- off bus down to the other end of the road towards the wealth and the Opera House. Was needing some decent food which has been difficult as a coeliac needing gluten free. I could say no gluten please in French but I have been hesitant as the smallest bit will cause me to be unwell. And reading labels in the supermarket- well that’s a challenge. My rule became if it hasn’t got Sans Gluten on the front it’s a no go! The disadvantage is I don’t get to enjoys the French bakery delights. The upside is I probably won’t put on any weight!!!

So I ventured into the Hard Rock Cafe and my beautiful Austrian waitress looked after me well. Very American fare but it was ok.

Bussed my way over to the Latin Quarter, changed buses and went to Le Jardin Luxembourg. An amazing garden! Glad I went. It was some time on a very hot day to relax and people watch a bit with a mango gelato.
Museum Lafayette was in the mix and some great interactions with people.

Glimpses of a burnt Notre Dame pop up everywhere.

Bussed it back to the stop near the hotel and then the day took a dark turn........

Grabbed from behind by an African youth grabbing my chain from around my neck. I screamed and screamed and hit him. There were plenty of people around but no one intervened until he ran off with part of my chain. A guy chased him in a moped and everyone checked I was ok. I bet the bastard didn’t expect a fight! In hindsight I am grateful he didn’t have a weapon. It could have been a lot worse. I had forgotten to remove my chain when I left home as I normally would and I paid the price.

Back at the hotel, the manager on duty insisted on getting me a stiff drink before heading to the Police Station. That was useless with a 5 hour wait to report an incident. Goodbye any chance of an insurance claim. So I took my sore and sorry self and my G&T up to my room, showered and pack my luggage for a 4:30 start in the morning. Not a nice end to my time in Paris. But could happen to anyone, anywhere.

And now to Wroclaw to my nephew Tim’s wedding.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb