Goodbye Summer Hello Autumn!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Queenscliff
April 8th 2010
Published: April 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I stayed in Sorrento for 3 nights, still chilly but very pretty area and good company so it was alright! I got there by taking a ferry, then a train and finally a bus! The town I caught the bus in was very....interesting. I felt like I had gone straight to a sunnier version of Newark. As I waited for the bus I watched a man who'd managed to keep about 3 of his teeth get arrested for carrying around a rifle in a stroller. Him and his wife put on quite the show for everyone in town but thank God my bus came soon so I didn't have to witness anymore special events!

The hostel itself is a small beach house and when I got there no one was at reception and only one guest was there, Ramon from Germany. He opened the door and told me I had to call this girl's cell phone to check in so I did and then went to my room which had no one else in it and was connected to Ramone's room by a bathroom. Eventually some other guests arrived but for most of the time Ramon was my only friend. I ate fantastically after befriending Ramon who loved to cook. I basically had my own personal chef for a few days! 😊 We grilled chicken on the BBQ one night, made our own pizza another and other random Ramon specials here and there, definitely an upgrade from pasta and peanut butter sandwiches!

One day we went to the beach with a really cool Japanese guy. The boys went surfing and I tried to lay on the beach. I say try because eventually it became so cold and windy I had to put my shorts and t-shirt on, stole my friend's hoody and had both guys wrap their towels around me. I also had to stay much longer than desired because a creepy Australian guy from our hostel followed us there, borrowed the Japanese guy's surf board and got stuck in the strong current for about an hour...he was also the only crazy person in the freezing autumn water not wearing a wet suit. Eventually one of the guys had to go out and save him. When he got out the top of his body was entirely red from the freezing water...I guess this is proof that not all Australians know how to surf.



After my stay in Sorrento I took the ferry to Queenscliff. On the way over I saw tons of Dolphins swimming and jumping around in the crystal clear water. When I got to the hostel I was happily suprised to find it was a large Victorian style bed and breakfast and my room had been upgraded to a double room but no one ever joined me so I had a room all to myself for 2 nights which was lovely! The town itself is probably amazing in the summer but when it's colder it's pretty empty. Regardless, I managed to keep myself busy, the highlight of my trip being a life size Thomas the Tank engine and a thrift store where I bought a pair of sweatpants, a jacket and rain poncho for $10! I wore the sweatpants for the rest of my time there since a) it was freezing and all I had brought was shorts and a pair of stretched out jeans and b) this was a beach town in the middle of no where so I really wasn't worried about style and fashion!


Getting back to Sydney was another adventure in itself...if you ever get down to the Melbourne area bring a car because it's pretty impossible to get anywhere without one! I had to take a bus, a train and a taxi to the airport and then found out the hostel I was headed to, Bondi Beach, didn't do late pick ups so it was either another train and bus or a very expensive taxi. I never thought I'd decide to do the taxi but I was cold and exhausted so I gave in. Unfortunately, although warmer than Melbourne, it's becoming Autumn in Sydney as well so it's still chilly and was raining when I arrived. Another gem was that in the middle of the night the fire alarm went off so loudly I think part of my brain has suffered permanent damage. We all had to evacuate at around 3am. The next morning I was determined to go to the beach regardless of the clouds. So with bikini, shorts and tank top on and a PB&J packed I headed to the beach! Way too windy for the beach though so eventually I started walking along the cliffs and got some amazing pictures of caves carved out by the ocean, a magnificent graveyard along the cliffs and some great ocean shots.


When I finally accepted that I was crazy, it was freezing and everyone around me was wearing sweaters and pants, I went back for a warm shower. That's when I met my fantastic roomate Heather! She's a year older, from England and we are so similar it's scary. I should really make a list but a few really important similarities that truly make us soul mates are as follows: favorite color is purple, same hair dryer, eyelashes don't curl naturally, both have neice and nephew, love the movie Elf and get migraines. Crazy I know! 😉We had a wonderful evening, went out to get some food, a stranger bought me a can of coke and watched step brothers back at the hostel. The hostel by the way has the most amazing rooftop view of the ocean, I'll try to upload a picture.


I then made my way back the the Rocks to the hostel I spent a month at when I was working in Sydney. Now time for the parents to arrive!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb