Melbourne Part B: Penguins and 2009


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
January 1st 2009
Published: January 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Continued...

Monday: Great Ocean Road, I saw the beautiful scenery, the 12 Apostles, the Round the Twist Light House, a wild koala and a wild echidna!

Tuesday: I went to see the Penguins with my "cousin" and her family. We sat on the sand ages waiting for them to arrive and eventually they started swimming in from the sea! They were so timid, sometimes they just ran back because they were, unsurprisingly, scared of all the people watching them! Afterwards we went to see them all goiing about their business in the burrows, so cute! I had no idea penguins lived in Australia.

Wednesday: New Year's Eve! I went to the RSl with the rellies, then got the train over to Werribee. Once there, I met up with my friend Michelle who I shared a tent with for 3 weeks in Canada! We had an awesome time, spending much of the evening playing Singstar on the playstation, basically kareoke!

Around half 10 we headed into Melbourne to see the fireworks at midnight. They were impressive but the city was soooo busy. When trying to get to our train, there was a gas bomb scare. The station was absolutely "rammers," and everyone started coughing at the gas. It's the first time in my life I really thought I was going to die. It turned out somebody had let off a very strong stinging stink bomb, what an absolute idiot. We saw him being marched out by about 20 police!

We eventually got to another station, I managed to fall over and hurt myself on the way as I was so nervous, we made it back to Michelle's aroung 3:30 though, all safe.

Thursday: On New Year's Day evening, I went to a restaurant to see all my family again, great to see them and sad they're so far away! Great to to meet them though, finally!

Friday: Fly to New Zealand, sad to leave Oz, but I think I'm going to love New Zealand!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



3rd January 2009

Je savais pas que tu avais des talents cachés de chanteuse! Je veux voir ca la prochaine fois qu'on se voit, à Paris ou à Birmingham! Tu as l'air de t'amuser follement en tout cas! Profites en! Lots of love Ségo

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb