Start of Blog


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
June 24th 2006
Published: June 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Aussie Rules at the MCGAussie Rules at the MCGAussie Rules at the MCG

This was from a game between the Brisbane Lions and Collingwood. Collingwood, in black and white, won.
Well thought I'd get a photoblog site going so I could get a few pics and updates of my trip online for all to see.

For those who don't know, I arrived in Melbourne 4 weeks ago with the intention of staying here and working until September. After a week or so, I got itchy feet! So, this Wednesday coming, June 28th, I'm flying up to Cairns in North Queensland. Haven't got a firm plan in my mind, but basically I'll be making my way down the east coast of Oz until I hit Sydney. I'm planning to arrive back in Melbourne a week or two before I'm due to fly home, in Mid-September.

Anyway, briefly what I've been up to here. Have been picking up a bit of casual work in Melbourne. Its only been general labouring work. All fairly easy stuff but its kept me busy and its adding a few pennies to the bank balance. My intention is to pick up work as I'm travelling down the east coast. I've heard its fairly easy to find work there so it should be a ok. Melbourne is a great city, but really would love to be here
Melbourne skylineMelbourne skylineMelbourne skyline

Melbourne has a great skyline. The river Yarra marks the beginning of the city centre.
in the summer. Its winter here at the moment and I don't think you get the full benefits of Melbourne at this time of year. Its been about 13-16 degrees, with a mixture of sunny, cloudy and rainy days. Highlights of Melbourne so far have been Melbourne Zoo, an Aussie Rules game at the MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground, holds about 100,000 people - its HUGE), and the Australia versus England rugby match last weekend. When I return to Melbourne in a couple of months I will be taking advantage of the good weather, and will be off down the Great Ocean Road to see the 12 apostles (famous rock formation in the sea), and Philip Island, which is a small island where you can go and see penguins!

Anyway, thats all for now, I will write again from somewhere up north. Have attached a few pics of Melbourne.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Funky ArchitectureFunky Architecture
Funky Architecture

From Federation Square
On the beersOn the beers
On the beers

Before the Australia England game


26th June 2006

Looks awesome Gareth, you lucky thing!
28th June 2006

Wow! looks like you're having an amazing time...! Great pics :-)

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb