Beth Orton at the St.Kilda Palais Theatre


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
April 21st 2006
Published: June 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tonight we had tickets to see the musician Beth Orton at the St.Kilda Palais. I'd remembered in conversations with Caroline about the type of music that we enjoyed and she said Beth Orton was one of her favourite artists. I later realised in local music magazines that she was playing a one off concert in Melbourne and as she is a UK artist this one of both fortune and lucky coincidence so I managed to get a couple of tickets for us.

We weren't dissapointed either. Having never heard her music before I was pleasantly surprised. Admittidely not my usual stuff I listen to but a collection of live band fold/female guitar music which was actually really rather good.

We had a few drinks and a meal before hand and settled in to be enteratained for 2 hours in the St.Kilda Palais which is a great really old traditional theatre, I guess from the decor in the Victorian era or something of the like. You could just imagine in the old days the people with their posh theatre frocks and the men in dinner jackets and bow ties. Really quite elite.

On leaving I noticed that Ross Noble, a UK comedian was playing in a few days so we managed to get some tickets for that too.

All in all another great night.

Mike

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb