St Kilda, Will You Be My Valentine?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
February 14th 2010
Published: February 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My days of hitting the streets in Melbourne, looking for work and a place to live has lead to one thing. Me being homesick. It has been ten months and I finally found myself homesick for a few days (and to think it is well below zero with snow at home). I wasn't really homesick like I need to go home right now homesick, more of a desire to shake a hand or receive a hug or just talk into the eyes of someone I know and love.I don't know if these feelings come from the frustration of not having a place to call home here in Melbourne or just a bit of fear from starting over again.

I first was in St Kilda to visit a flat share that was for rent. That day I discovered just what a groovy little place St Kilda was. It has a beach, some cool bars, some good shopping, some good restaurants and just seemed like a nice place to live and I wanted to live there. A few days later, a girl that I live with invited me along to the final day of the St Kilda festival. The sun was shining, it was a beautiful day and we had nothing else to really do so we took a short tram ride from the city centre Melbourne to St Kilda. We jumped off the tram and into the street that is completely full of people. The main streets were all blocked, so no vehicles, just loads of people in the streets, the sounds of music and the smells of street food. A walk down the crowded, palm tree lined street takes you to the waterfront. Where there were many places selling food, massages, hats, footwear, handmade crafts among other things.

We had been told to bring our own booze by one of Mel's friends, so we did. We walked the streets with some beers in hand and a box of wine in bag. Most of the streets are considered dry zones, so we had to drink discreetly. We met up with some of Mel's friends. We decided that because it was such a warm day we should head to the beach. By the time we had reached the beach most of us had received warnings from the coppers that we were in a dry zone.

After a few discreet drinks at the beach, we went to the main stage to watch some free performances. The acts varied from hip hop-ish to rock bands. We sat on the grass listening to music, people watching and just enjoying the beautiful day. Our little group had split up as everybody had different ideas on what they wanted to do next. I went to see some more acts at different stages. Then I lost the group and wandered around in search of food. It seems to be a bit of a rule that you find the best things when your not looking. And as happens I was walking up the street with food on my mind I heard music that sounded good. So I followed the sound to find a very high energy south american band. These guys were really good, they had a funky rock sound. After that I caught the final act at the main stage then walked the streets a little more. The bars were filling up, the party was spilling onto the streets, the sun was going down and I caught a tram home. The day of sunshine and walking around had left me thinking about my bed.

So this Valentine's Day I spent at the St Kilda festival having a good time and falling for a new place. Now if I could just find a place to live in lovely St Kilda.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb