Neighbours


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
May 8th 2007
Published: May 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Always nice to see "JT" cry. Well except when he's in an England shirt that is.
Woot United.


Last night we went to the Neighbours party thing at a bar called the Elephant and the Wheelbarrow. The night started well as I brought a bar card for $40 with $60 of credit on which relates to $4 proper pints. Then I discovered my camera was broke again. Not only an expensive bit of equipment, also $100 wasted on "repairing" it. Argh. The bar is in St. Kilda which is the cool part of melbourne - the place to be seen.

Gav feeling the fake energy of larger ran and hopped on a tram, Gav likes to run. I as usual assumed the tram would wait for me - it didn't. After grabbing some food I got the next tram, got of at the station expecting Mang to be there - he wasn't so walked to the beach stop expecting him to be there. Nope. Couldn't remember the name of the pub or where about in St. Kilda it is but after seeking him and a long walk found it.

$40 to get in to a bar. I was reluctant. I found Gav inside, by the bar. Libby was on stage and for the next 30 mins Gav kept turning to me, smiling and telling me "that's Libby". Apprently he was worried about me when I didn't get on the tram so he had a few pints waiting outside. After she finished covering a load of songs (she was actually pretty good, think it's required if you are a young female on the show) a fat dude who thought he was a comedian came on. He was the presenter, clearly had an unoriginal highly overused act. Then the stars came out. Neighbours get 9 million viewers a day in the UK and over 120 million viewers daily worldwide. Truely unbelievable considering how lame it is.

Janelle was the first, then a very fat conner, madge and finally the one most of crowd were there for KK. Karl Kenady. There was a quick question session, and apprently KK is a pretty dirty old man. I though conner was actually quite funny but Gav wasn't giving the Irish man anything and released a continous torrid of abuse whenever he spoke.

The fatman (presenter, not conner) then announced that the ahem, stars will come round and meet everyone in the room. Damn have to speak to them, need a drink. Gav was running around wildly too excited by getting everyones pic. He said he couldn't be star struck as he'd met Tom Hanks, that's balls he was star struck. All he kept saying was that's Marge/KK... Besides Tom Hanks doesn't get one billion viewers a week.

I noticed a girl staring at me from across the room - nothing unusual there I am stunning and they are only human. Haha. She came over and said she recognised me, cheesy but she's female thus can get away with it. After about 15 mins of discussing where we'd both been and finding out she's on the same route but a month ahead and we didn't overlap at all (untill here). She looked vaguely familer, but everyone does to me. I wait for people to tell me if i know them or not. When she said she was from cardiff it jogged something, as i remember doing that before: speaking to someone with a very clear Welsh accent then asking where she's from and showing my weakness on accents. She twigged that we met on an assessment day for Aon in Birmingham. How wierd is that? Turns out they wanted her to come back to Aon for a talk discussing the job but she said she was leaving on a RTW trip the next day. I told her I failed for being too forcefull in the group exercises, she said what just to that man. So clearly I was too aggressive - whoops. She wasn't too impressed with my accoutancy job and the fact i said actuary was too restricting and will make more molaa under my own guidance post training. Anyway, enough of that. Turns out she is staying in the same hostel. Small world.

KK came on with his band waiting room, straight into the FooFighters, killers, Fratellies, Kaiser Chief's I predict a roit. A few of their own which I actually thought were alright, but i was drunk. Thought I'd better go find my partner in crime check he's still alive after more Conner abuse earlier when he was under a metre away. He was, but it looked like it was home time. So we didn't stay to see what KK's grand finale was or how they ended the show which was a shame as it cost $40 fricking bucks.

I got a juice, mang crisps, obv. He then ran (ish) we got a taxi back to Melbourne as I've been lost in St. Kilda enough for one day and did not trust Manga's judgements. Gav went and got a taxi - i followed, the driver must have felt sorry for us. I asked him to stop as soon as i recognised something, he said he would as soon as he could, stopped the meter and drove us all the way back then gave us extra money back with a look of pity in his eye. Haha, ledge.

So I got up at about 8 today, plenty of time before I'll try to ring Gav though I'd write a long blog and try to buy a jumper. Oh went to Qantas as well, I can change my flights to anywhere pretty much. Thinking of trying to fit in somewhere instead of Fiji, Hawaii or L.A. (NZ stays for shizzle). Any suggestions? I'm thinking maybe somewhere in South America: Brazil? Or back to Asia, or India or China? China on a whim may be a little too much. Hmm I don't know. I'd like to go somewhere exicitng since I will only get holidays for the next 3 long years.

Anyway.
Cheerio.

Edit: Big shout out to the girls at Gav's work. Keep reading my blog and not Gav's. His is lame mine is sup3r l33t.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb