Penguin Parade


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Philip Island
September 22nd 2005
Published: September 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Yay! Had a lovely few days with the girls- (me, Abbie, Geraldine and Vikky (Abbies co-teacher at school) at Phillip Island just off the coast from Melbourne.

A friend of Gel's leant us her holiday cottage for one night which was really nice. I managed to drag Abbie along to the see the penguins (she's been 3 times). So cute- little fairy penguins waddle up the beach to their nests in groups of tens. I wanted to stuff one up my jumper and take it home with me but Abbie advised against it. Not sure my bath is big enough...

The next day went to the nobbies. Sounds weird but its sort of a craggy coast line with rocks and seals although the seals are miles out. Thousands of gulls though with cute fluffy babies and good views.
Went round a wildlife centre and fed some watermelons which are like kangaroos but even smaller. They're not really called watermelons but I cant remember the proper name!





Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



26th September 2005

Species correction...
Umm, I think that 'wallaby' might be the word you were looking for (Watermelons being something wholly different) :-)
14th November 2005

Not watermelons
They are called Paddymelons

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb