Back from Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Docklands
March 29th 2006
Published: March 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yo everyone,

I had my trip to Melbourne this past weekend. Now that I have my act together after getting back, I can post a little bit about what I have been up to. Well Melbourne was a really good trip. We went out there Thursday night, and it is only about a hour and 15 minute flight from Sydney. We stayed with one of Lauren's friends from IU and her roommate there Colleen and Allison. Slept on the hardest floor of all time. You can look them up in my facebook pics if you want to know bad enough. Anyways we went out that night, checked out the city the next day shopping and such, and then we went to the Commonwealth Games. The Commonwealth Games is the Olympics for all the countries that make up the old British Empire in case you didn't know. Australia dominated the games in total, and we went to the track and field. It was cool to see Asafa Powell (world's fastest man) kick ass from Jamaica and Kenyans dominate the long distance races.

The next day we did some more touring of the city, and they have some cool stuff going on because of the Commonwealth games, kind of like the olympic village stuff they normally do. We went out to a club, but it wasn't a very good time and we had to get up early as hell for the Great Ocean Road Tour. This is a couple hours from Melbourne and it was awesome. You can see how amazing it is from my pics on facebook. It felt really, really good to be out of the city because I had not since I got here. I was totally refreshed. Anyways, it is modeled after the Highway 1 Pacific Coast road system in the US, except it is definitely more beautiful. And yes, I have seen that one too to have that opinion. We had to leave at 3:45 the next morning for the airport, so not much went on after we got back. Very glad I did the Ocean Road Tour and experienced Melbourne during the Commonwealth game fanfare (massive fireworks).

Now I will back track a little bit to what I have been up to since I posted last. Basically I have been going to class, living in the city, going out, and going to the beach. I went surfing as you all know from ripping on me like I expected from my facebook pic. It was tight, and I am going to keep it up as much as I have time to. I obviously wasn't doing the 15 foot waves, but the beach I surfed is apparently pretty world class. We went out for St. Patty's, and it is really pretty big here. The Irish pubs were packed up to the brim, and they shut down letting anyone in for the night really early. They had a big celebration here, but I opted out of that to watch the Hoosiers lose to Gonzaga. Welcome Kelvin Sampson! There is probably more, but I can not really think of it right now. Just trying to take advantage of the warm summer weather while I still can. I go to New Zealand in two weeks which will be an amazing vacation!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0861s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb