Im here :)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Docklands
January 19th 2006
Published: January 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,
Right now it's Thursday Jan 19 at 2:19pm (Wednesday at 10 45 pm your time). I'm in Melbourne with Anna...we are just sight seeing, getting phone cards and what not today. Its pretty cool here, and realllly Hot....30 degrees...I can wear skirts again 😊 People are nice...but not as nice as Canada. The flight was soooo long...30 hours of travelling and we got to where we are staying here yesterday at 2pm. So, we got lost quite a bit in Sydney trying to get out plane - we were racing through the airport with alll of our bags...haha it was funny, like in a movie. Then we got on the plane, and landed in Melbourne at around 8 am Wed morning( Tues night for you guys around 5pm ish i guess) . So, we get our luggage...anna didnt get one of her bags 😞 hopefully we will get it when we travel to brisbane on Saturday. My bags are pretty heavy, so when we were trying to get on the bus to get to the train station in Melbourne, It was funny...me trying to carry two huge bags...with a big backpack on my back and a purse. People just kind of stood there and watched me. Its been fun so far though...i met up with Harriet, my old roommate who came to Appleby last year. We might call her later and go out.
Tomorrow we go to Melbourne University to have our little orientation, meet all the ppl from Canada who are here...then we have the night to do whatever. Then on Saturday, more orientation stuff...and we then fly to Brisbane at 4pm (about an hour flight)...get to the airport and the director and his wife will pick us up and we will drive 2 hours west to Crows Nest to the farm we are staying at. HA. Farm. lol, Im going to become a cowgirl and milk cows, ride horses...should be interesting.
So, It has been good so far...It will be even better...It just doesnt feel like I am going to be here for 6 months. I keep thinking I need to pack everything in - see everything in a day or two like i usually do when I'm on a tight schedule in another country..but I have 6 months to see stuff and travel. Well, we are going to go find a place to eat...It's weird I dont (neither does Anna) feel jet lag kicking in yet...I slept for a while on the plane. And, I have no appitite whatsoever..i keep forgetting to eat food.
Ok, my next entry will be comming soon...maybe from the University tomorrow or maybe from Brisbane. I'll be putting pictures up soon too. Bye everyone 😊
Love Steph xoxox

Advertisement



19th January 2006

I miss you already!!
STEPH!! I miss you SO much already!! this is silly...!!! I'm glad you're enjoying yourself so far and I can only picture you falling everywhere with your bags...laughing like a hyena...hahhhahaah I wish I could've experienced that with yeh! Anyways, make sure you do some serious tanning for me and pick up some Aussie hottays...and remember...what comes before part B??? ahahhaah DOOO ITTTTT! Be safe. Watch for ugly strangers. Look both ways before crossing the street. Wear sunscreen...that's enough of my tips...I LOVE YOU AND MISS YOU! Have a SWEEEET time!! Yours FOREVER AND ALWAYS!! --Cruise p.s. i fell on the way to school today and 2 guys laughed at me...they went "hahahah, haha r hahaha are haha are u ok ahahhhah....ahhaha do you need some help there hahaha" i went "haha NO!" ahahha...i'm embarassed.
19th January 2006

Hi Honey
Steph please give us a call today. We waited all night for your call. You may not get jetlag with those pills? That would be good. It sounds like you are haveing so much fun. and you have only been there a day? Wow. I love you. Mom
21st January 2006

Im so excited for you!
Hey Steph, sounds like you are having a blast - that switch in Sydney is crazy eh! I am glad you are enjoying it and I am so jealous you are there - you know how much I loved it and I am sure you will too. Hope you have the time of your life and I cant wait to hear more about your adventure! love you, Erin

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb