Summer 2009


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » City Centre
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Nicholson St CrewNicholson St CrewNicholson St Crew

Flatmates and friends
I cannot believe that I have been home for a month tomorrow! Time has really flown out here, now 9 months into my trip home is closer than ever.

I have spent the last month trying to find a job, which is harder than you think these days. I have gotten a few temp assignements but they have been a day long, hardly enough to pay the rent. I have been at a company for a week now, but am finished on Friday. Cross your fingers that I get another assignment soon.

I have applied to about 15 cafes and stores, but no luck there either. Becasue of the economic downturn they aren't hiring anywhere it seems. It makes me realize how lucky I was to have my last job at Servier for 6 months.

In other news I have applied to get my masters in psychology at both St. Thomas and Mankato, so we shall see how those applications turn out. I wont find out until april, but I am just glad the applications are finished. I have also been applying for graduate assistantships so I can afford school. I have applied to only 3, as many don't relate. I am hoping they will post more in the next few weeks.

It has also been very hot in Melbourne. Last week we experienced the hottest day recorded in history for Melbourne, a scortching 115 degrees. Like THAT is hot.

Last weekend also brought the devistating Victoria bushfires. So far I think 181 people have been found dead, with rumors that number may top 300. The fires were the worst in all history, and being compared to Hiroshima and other great disasters. The first and most publicised fires from Kinglake have been decided to have been caused by faulty powerlines. There is a class action lawsuit that will go into action against the company that maintains the lines.

There is also suspicion of arson for other fires, with the suspects potentially being tried for murder, with minimum 25 years in prision. It is scary becaue more firebugs are still lighting fires. There have even been fires in Melbournes suburbs, including one in a suburb where some of my friendsl ive and right next to Andrew's parents house.

The fear is that the publicity is exciting other arsonists and that the fires will continue. The devestation is so horrible, towns completly gone and no where nearly rebuilt. People still have nothing, even though there are millions being donated you cant rebuild entire towns in a day.

Hope all is better back home than it is in Victoria currently 😊

Picture: Aussie Day, January 26 is their equilivant of the 4th of July.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb