Melbourne and Kirsty!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » City Centre
October 14th 2008
Published: October 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me Karl and MalMe Karl and MalMe Karl and Mal

Neighbours night :D



Melbourne and Kirsty!!!


I arrived in Melbourne and met up with Kirsty who took me to her pad - in South Kensington! ha ha ha South Kensington in Australia is actually a small village on the outskirts of Melbourne city centre. There are a few bars and restaurants and a couple of food shops. Seeing Kirsty for the first time in six months felt - well dead normal to be honest. We sat in the kitchen of the two bed house she shares with a girl called Claire and chatted none stop for about four hours or so. Nothing new there...

The wonderful thing about staying with Kirsty is that I have a bed - not a bunkbed but a bed. Two pillows and a duvet - or a "duna" as the Ozzy call it. I also have not one but two towels - one for me and one for my hair! What more could a girl want?!

We did a lot of shopping around Melbourne and took full advantage of the little cafes that are hidden down little alley ways. It seems with Melbourne that the trendier the bar/restauarant/cafe the harder it is

to find! The city is set out in an American style grid but has little alley ways leading off the main roads. The overall feel to the city un-like Sydney is that it is laid back and very european. Food is a big thing to Melbourne kids - which is bad news for me waist line!

I was taken to Victoria Market - which sold literally everything your heart desired. The fruit and veg was enormous and tasted amazing. During my many shopping trips in Melbourne I cracked and purchased a pair of amazing heels... (I know I know but I like heels... what can I say)

On the Monday we made our way down to one of Melbourne's biggest tourist attractions - Neighbours night (And yes I wore the heels). Well I had to see old Dr Karl didn't I - Kirsty and I had our photos taken with Neigbours stars old and new - most of which I had never seen before in my life! We met a couple of Irish girls who promptly got us free glasses of champagne all night - result!!!

The next day Kirtow took me to Bronswick Street - the
Cakes at St KildaCakes at St KildaCakes at St Kilda

And I wonder why I have put on weight...
trendy shordichy type place in Melbourne. Which I automatically fell in love with. Vintage shops and coffee shops with amazing cakes were all over the place.. Perhaps this is what heaven is?

I was also taken to St Kilda - which is Melbournes closest beach area and the place that most back packers stay. Unfortunately Melbourne weather does not seem to flow the rest of Australia and it was bloody freezing - something that I found a bit of a shock to the old system! More tea and cakes.

One eveing I met up with Jessy - Marianne's sister who is also staying in Melbourne for the near distant future. Considering the fact we had never met we had a good old night chatting away. We were joined by James Rivis (For those who work at Durrants this is Simon Rivis' brother) and Sido (another ex Durrants employee) It was a medly of people all connected in some shape or form to Durrants - the centre of the world so it seems! We went to the roof top bar which provided an amazing view of the city - and some rather good gin and tonics! To my surprise the two American girls that I met in Sydney also came out to join us and well - as you can imagine I got very drunk with everyone and had a great time.

Kirsty and I planned to meet up with Ben and Mel (Ben also worked in Durrants - see I told you it's the centre of the universe!) and go one a camping trip. We decided to stay in and take advantage of Claire - Kirsty's house mates cooking - which is pretty darn good I must admit!

I set to bed and prepared myself for camping in Oz - I left me heels behind for this trip!




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Kirtow and JessieKirtow and Jessie
Kirtow and Jessie

(Maz's sister)
James Rivis James Rivis
James Rivis

Doing a shot :)
Me and the YanksMe and the Yanks
Me and the Yanks

Maya and Hayley from Sydney - in the roof top bar :)


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb